Newest Hacks

Streets of Rage Hi-Score SRAM Tetris with Title Music Silent Baby Mario Metroid Ridley X Hack 2

Newest Translations

Super Mario 64 Rabio Lepus Special Pokémon: Blue Version Double Dragon

Newest Utilities

TKMK00 to MIO0 Super Zelda Editor Move Animation Creator Text Pattern Finder

Newest Reviews

Dragon Quest III: Soshite Densetsu e... Streets of Rage Hi-Score SRAM Duck Tales 2 Deluxe 2013 Castlevania: The Holy Relics

Newest Homebrew

Another NES Snake Varooom 3D Lumberjack Rolling Pumpkins

Featured Hack Images

Final Fantasy VI Titlescreen Mod Mario is a Drug Addict Super Mario World: The Lost Adventure - Episode I Dragon Warrior 3 Hardtype

Featured Translation Images

Skuld no Bug Taiji Game Wizardry III: Legacy of Llylgamyn Wind -a breath of heart- Mach Rider

Recent Updates

  • Credits
    Sorry, forgot to point out initially that font work was also made for the game's translation.
  • Translations
    Fixed slight error in the Readme file (read "Pokémon Blue l10n Plus"; should read "Pokémon Blue l10n Plus Lite").
  • Hacks
    Image 3 and 4 are the same so, I changed Image 4 for a different one.
  • Hacks
    Capitalized the word "baby" as needed.

Roll-chan

Hack of Mega Man

Description:

This is a player sprite hack of Rockman/Mega Man for the NES! This hack changes Rock’s player sprites into his sister Roll! There are currently 2 types of patches:

  • Classic Roll
  • Rockman/Mega Man 8 Roll

STORY

In the year 20XX, Dr. Right’s robots were kidnapped & reprogrammed by Dr. Wily to gain him world domination. In order to stop Dr. Wily & the reprogrammed Robot Masters, Dr. Right modified his robot assistant, Rock, into a super fighting robot. However, Rock was severely incapacitated with the Robot Masters onslaught. Nonetheless, Roll, Dr. Right’s housekeeping robot & Rock’s sister, presented herself & is willing to be modified for battle, to save her ‘brothers’ & save the world from Dr. Wily’s evil scheme. Astounded by her compassion, Dr. Right transformed Roll into a super fighting robot girl! So Roll♥chan was born!

NOTE: v2.2 - 07/11/2018

Check the readme for more info!

ROM / ISO Information:

  • No-Intro Name: Rockman (Japan) (En)
  • (No-Intro version 20130731-235630)
  • File MD5: 8824842070A569E9BA7287BCDEA045A3
  • File SHA-1: 5914D409EA027A96C2BB58F5136C5E7E9B2E8300
  • File CRC32: E0141A24
  • ROM MD5: 8D5A61F42D92EE61D05083263A11FCA1
  • ROM SHA-1: EA93F3F2FD561C1CEE59AD51CFCB10F3DD83766F
  • ROM CRC32: D31DC910
  • *
  • No-Intro Name: Mega Man (USA)
  • (No-Intro version 20130731-235630)
  • File MD5: 4D4FFDFE7979B5F06DEC2CF3563440AD
  • File SHA-1: 2F88381557339A14C20428455F6991C1EB902C99
  • File CRC32: 5DED683E
  • ROM MD5: 4DE82CFCEADBF1A5E693B669B1221107
  • ROM SHA-1: 6047E52929DFE8ED4708D325766CCB8D3D583C7D
  • ROM CRC32: 6EE4BB0A

Links:

Screenshots:


Credits:

Credits
ContributorType of contributionListed credit
Zynk OxhydeHackingHacking & Sprite art

User Review Information

A Simple Retelling of a Classic Story

Reviewed By: Josephine Lithius on 19 Dec 2013

So, while poking around for a specific Super Metroid ROM hack, I noticed a headline on the front page of this site today. Apparently, someone had made a graphical hack of Mega Man, putting his sister Roll in the place of the Blue Bomber. Being Roll’s biggest fan (a self-given title), you can guess that Super Metroid went on the back burner so I could try this hack.

Now, there is another bunch of hacks by someone named “YUIFA” which do this exact thing. However, the Roll in those hacks look… strange. The proportions in those hacks are a little wonky, likely due to the limited amount of space which could be overwritten, and overall Roll doesn’t look quite like herself. Zynk apparently found a way to get around this limit, allowing him to make Roll look considerably more like her original self! But he didn’t stop there, oh no sir. Not only did he make a graphical patch to play as Roll in her classic dress… he made one that lets her wear her Mega Man 8 outfit and hair as well! Even better than that, he made patches for both the United States and Japanese versions of Mega Man! How cool is that? But enough backstory and technical details. I’m sure you all want to know how it looks and how it plays.

To start, you’ll notice that no matter which language version of the ROM you patch, the title screen will always change into a modified version of the Japanese screen, though the blue background is changed to black for this hack. The logo is appropriately changed from “Rockman” to “Roll-Chan” (or more specifically, “Roll♥Chan” – a carry-over or homage to YUIFA’s hacks) and instead if a bulbous Rock, we see Roll in a pose that’s similar to her Rockman Mobile pose, though rotated about a quarter-turn. It’s quite cute! These changes also apply to the Mega Man 8 version of the hack, her dress changed where appropriate. However, one curiosity that separates the two versions of the hack is that the “classic” dress hack surrounds Roll with simple color bars while the Mega Man 8 version surrounds her with lines of hearts. That’s a little odd, to me.

Getting to the game proper, the level select screen is completely unchanged. Once you get into a stage however, you’ll see Roll land, her palette appropriately colored and everything. Every single one of her sprites is changed to appropriate analogues for Rock’s – even the rarely-used “knocked down” sprite (triggered by Gutsman’s stomp) and her ending sprites! (No spoilers, but she looks particularly adorable when you beat the game.) This does lead me to two things I don’t really like about the edits though… While the editing to her palette was done quite well, the fact that her hair changes color when she switches weapons doesn’t set well with me. If it were me, I would have made her hair use her skin color and made her ribbon use the secondary color. This, combined with her Mega Man 8 outfit’s sprite having elongated boot tops (which use the secondary yellow color instead of white) looks very odd to me. Then again, I did pretty much the same thing with my own Rockman Mobile Roll sprite edits, and there is that aforementioned limit to graphic placement, so… The other thing is that I don’t understand why the Roll Buster bullets were changed to hearts. I think that might be another carry-over from YUIFA, but I don’t remember. I just know Roll never fired “heart bullets” in Marvel vs. Capcom or Rockman Mobile (though I have no idea if “Super Roll” from the Japanese animated mini-series did or not). This seems like a unnecessary change, especially when the boss weapons are completely unchanged. But mind you, this is just my personal preference. The heart bullets to look good for what they are. I just prefer the classic “pink lemon” buster shots.

Aside from Roll, there’s other little graphics which went changed. There’s a very nice touch on the weapon menu which changes the boring letters from the normal game into weapon icons! Unfortunately, due to the very limited 8×8 space on the menu, the icons look a little funny. Some of them also don’t seem to match the official weapon icons found in The Wily Wars or the arcade Battle & Fighters series. It’s pretty obvious what they’re meant to represent though, so that’s alright. Another little aesthetic change I noticed was done to Bombman’s Hyper Bombs. In the original game, Bombman’s bombs didn’t have a lit fuse. Though undocumented, Zynk added a little spark at the end of the fuse in this ROM hack. I found that to be a pretty nice touch.

Now comes the big question: “How does it play?” Well, I’m happy to say that the core game is completely untouched. All changes made were completely graphical and the game still plays exactly like the original Mega Man many people love. The ending dialogue was changed very slightly, swapping out “Mega/Rockman” for “Roll” and adding a hack credit in at the very end, but otherwise, the dialogue remains unaltered.

All and all, I feel that this is a great way to re-experience the magic of the first game and it’s especially a nice treat for folks like me who can’t get enough of the cuteness that is Roll! I highly recommend this ROM hack if you like Roll, or if you just want to change things up ever-so-slightly. And just a side note here, I’m very much looking forward to the next five “Roll-chan” hacks, which Zynk is working on in his spare time. Keep up the good work, Zynk!

And of course… happy 26th anniversary, classic series! There’ll always be a place for you in the hearts of your fans, Rock and company.

Recommended - Yes

User Reviews
HeadlineAuthorDateVersionRecommended
cuz sumtimes the lady has to wear the busterfulltiltmonkey31 Jan 20202.2Yes
Underrated CharacterKallisto07 Feb 20172.1Yes
Amazing yet simple hackLittleRollBot31 Dec 20162.1Yes
Simple, Yet MeaningfulMother Kojiro24 Apr 20162.0Yes
Fight for everlasting peace!Rodimus Primal29 Dec 20141.3Yes
Really cooleternalsage22 Dec 20141.3Yes
A Simple Retelling of a Classic StoryJosephine Lithius19 Dec 2013N/AYes