Newest Hacks

Pokemon Fire Red Legends Tina's Adventure Island Ice Climber - 4 players hack ver.2 NCAA Football 2020

Newest Translations

Gunhed - Aratanaru Tatakai Parlour Games Pac-Land The Lion King

Newest Utilities

Zapper 2020 DKC Stage Name Editor Universal PVR Extractor & Patcher Room Transfer

Newest Reviews

Mega Man X1: Proto Edition Shadowrun 2058 Tina's Adventure Island SNES PAL to NTSC Patches

Newest Homebrew

Nova the Squirrel Death Planet Bad Apple!! PV-FC 2.5 Simplistic

xdelta UI

Patching

Description:

A simple frontend for xdelta. Allows you to easily create and apply xdelta patches without messing with the command-line.

Note that xdelta can account for shifted data, so moving portions of rom around won’t result in patches containing copyrighted data.

Update 1.1 (30.05.09): xdelta UI can now be associated with filetypes for easier use. The recommended ending for xdelta patches is *.xdelta.

Links:

User Review Information

Gets the job done, but can use improvements.

Reviewed By: DaVince on 28 Sep 2013

Reviewing: Version 1.1, released by KaioShin 31.05.09

I was looking for a graphical tool to patch XDelta files, and sure enough, this does the job. I do, however, have suggestions to make the tool more intuitive and quicker to use:

Using the current directory as a starting directory.

If I put XDelta in a folder where I have all my ROMs, this would speed up the process immensely as I don’t have to navigate from My Documents any more (which is a completely different directory).

Drag and drop functionality.

In fact, I already had the folder open in Explorer. Being able to drag the XDelta and ROM files into the GUI would make things very, very easy indeed.

Is it hanging? Or making progress?

I click Patch, the tool seemingly hangs, and then I get the “Patching finished” message. Now, I haven’t patched anything big (just a 16 MB GBA ROM), but I can imagine that if you do patch something big, one would like to have the certainty that it’s not crashing or anything. Make sure the GUI doesn’t become unresponsive and have a message stating that it’s now patching. If the original XDelta commandline version has terminal output, maybe display that. Any indication is better than a hanging program.

So! Thanks for making the tool! It’s useful, but the benefits of having a GUI version of a program almost seem wasted if you don’t actually use a GUI’s advantages! Oh, and add a version number in the title bar or something. ;)

Recommended - Yes

User Reviews
HeadlineAuthorDateVersionRecommended
Super easy! Super AWESOME!Apocalypse61222 May 20191.1Yes
Great GUI Program for patching Xdelta files for ROMS.mrrichard99901 Oct 20171.1Yes
Gets the job done, but can use improvements.DaVince28 Sep 2013N/AYes
Really goodMathUser292924 Dec 2012N/AYes
Especially gets the job done!Lenophis02 Apr 2009N/AYes