News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: The Console Tool (by Low Lines)  (Read 252693 times)

Low Lines

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
    • View Profile
    • lowlines
Re: The Console Tool (by Low Lines)
« Reply #320 on: April 25, 2011, 11:08:26 am »
Try deleting the settings.ini...If that doesn't work I've re-uploaded another version.

3.1 has an unstable gui plain and simple, it was the main reason why I didn't really want to release any new updates for it. The latest version I've been working on has a much more stable gui but it hasn't got all the functionality of 3.1 as I'm still progressively re-adding stuff to make sure it's stable and is more efficient where possible. I've tried to follow a much more strict MVC model as well as fixing a lot of class dependencies which is one of the major reasons why I wasn't able to just simply copy and paste stuff from 3.1. Though a large portion of the code is still just copy and paste I have to go through an clean up bits and pieces. It's simple stuff that takes a bit of time to do, which I was just not aware of until I started doing more IT units at University this semester :p

Unfortunately I've also got studies to tend to, so work on the next version has somewhat slowed...I only applied those updates because they were fairly simple and greatly enhanced the usability of the program. I've also been spending the last couple of days setting up Windows 7 through Parallels on my Mac so it's been kind of a bit hectic :p

I always look forward to your input though, it makes my assumptions look either overly complex or uninformed XD I shall have a good look through it (and all of your other posts) more in-depth when I get the chance :)

Garyong

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: The Console Tool (by Low Lines)
« Reply #321 on: April 25, 2011, 11:49:37 am »
The old-new version with deleted .ini produces the same error.
The new-new version produces a similar error (which also happens after I delete the .ini file again) =/
Code: [Select]
Exception in thread "AWT-EventQueue-0" java.lang.ExceptionInInitializerError
        at util.gui.CDragDrop.drop(CDragDrop.java:283)
        at java.awt.dnd.DropTarget.drop(Unknown Source)
[snip]

Caused by: java.lang.NullPointerException
        at util.FileAccess.endRead(FileAccess.java:62)
        at util.struct.DPath.closeSource(DPath.java:203)
        at util.Plugin.scan(Plugin.java:150)
        at util.struct.DPath.check(DPath.java:62)
        at util.struct.DPath.<init>(DPath.java:31)
        at util.struct.DPath.<init>(DPath.java:22)
        at util.struct.DPalette.<init>(DPalette.java:9)
        at ctool.Loader.<clinit>(Loader.java:14)

Low Lines

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
    • View Profile
    • lowlines
Re: The Console Tool (by Low Lines)
« Reply #322 on: April 25, 2011, 12:21:49 pm »
Something is returning null at some point within the drag n drop and file loading process >_< I've put a few exception handlers in that allow it to continue working... It's just outright nasty -_-

The next version doesn't have this issue at all so there's not much point in debugging it further.

Also I loaded up those big NSCRs and they display awesomely :) Mind they have an internal screen size of type zero so until an NSCR for all 4 types has been tested there's no way to be certain :p

chrrox

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: The Console Tool (by Low Lines)
« Reply #323 on: April 30, 2011, 09:10:13 am »
With 3.1a i cant open any of the love plus files anymore.

Teknik

  • Guest
Re: The Console Tool (by Low Lines)
« Reply #324 on: May 05, 2011, 05:59:47 pm »
awesome job !

you know if one day it's possible to view model from diddy kong racing ?
if i remember on n64 roms it's  .lev format ...
i don't know if it much easy on DS but i think actually it's not possible to view modèle from Diddy Kong racing or Mario Kart 64 .... it's only possible with Lemmy plugin but for diddy kong racing the result are very bad ^^

chrrox

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: The Console Tool (by Low Lines)
« Reply #325 on: June 19, 2011, 05:53:49 pm »
Can you release the source code i would like to continue on this file format no reason to duplicate the work you already did.

Rhys

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 706
    • View Profile
    • CN
Re: The Console Tool (by Low Lines)
« Reply #326 on: June 19, 2011, 06:00:58 pm »
The availability of the source code has been discussed earlier in the thread, in summary Low Lines does not wish to release the source code at this time, and won't support you if you decompile it yourself

Hamtaro126

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 174
  • R.I.P. 2006-2012
    • View Profile
Re: The Console Tool (by Low Lines)
« Reply #327 on: June 19, 2011, 06:56:54 pm »
What Rhys and Low Lines said: It is currently a Closed-Source project,

Still interested in the project even then, Makes a future tool that is promising!
(Ban is Repealed because of refusal to accept action. Making this major problem worse, So if no-one tempbans me, I WILL NOT COME BACK PERMANENTLY)

Erase this when you are ready to act like a MAN!!!

Low Lines

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
    • View Profile
    • lowlines
Re: The Console Tool (by Low Lines)
« Reply #328 on: June 19, 2011, 09:53:52 pm »
Source code doesn't always equal less work. For one it needs to be in a language you understand (9/10 it isn't in the language you want it as well) and it is also written without a lot of explanation or documentation by the author. Especially if it deals with more complex stuff, which is the main reason you usually want it. So in the most likely case, you'd end up with something that's more like translating another language rather than the highlighted path to your goal.

If you are just looking at improving our understanding of how a file format works, then documentation is all you should need. I've tried to document the collective understanding I have of most of the formats I've supported now and in the past, which you can find here (http://llref.emutalk.net/docs/). If something doesn't make sense, I'm more than happy to elaborate on it, and/or update the docs to reflect upon it.

@Project Status
I finished by exams last week and have about 3-4 weeks of holidays. At the moment I'm working on another programming project and jumping between a couple of games I've wanted to play after seeing this years E3 (the WiiU man! I'm gonna call it my WU (wooo)). Should get back to working on ctool soon though, as its been the main thing I've been looking forward to doing during this break.
« Last Edit: June 30, 2011, 09:29:06 pm by Low Lines »

Koetsu

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Re: The Console Tool (by Low Lines)
« Reply #329 on: June 30, 2011, 09:22:45 pm »
I eagerly await the next update.

But another thing, does the tool support keyboard? I don't know if it's my system, but it's kind of irritating not getting to use arrow keys to navigate.

Low Lines

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
    • View Profile
    • lowlines
Re: The Console Tool (by Low Lines)
« Reply #330 on: June 30, 2011, 09:36:54 pm »
I eagerly await the next update.

But another thing, does the tool support keyboard? I don't know if it's my system, but it's kind of irritating not getting to use arrow keys to navigate.
There's has been next to no keyboard support to date, mostly due to the fact that I just haven't gotten round to it. I'm not quite sure where you'd be wanting to use arrow keys though, if you could please elaborate.

Seb

  • Guest
Re: The Console Tool (by Low Lines)
« Reply #331 on: July 01, 2011, 07:36:13 am »
Like 5 months ago I was crazy enought to read all the pages :o I hope you never quit making this :thumbsup:
If you'd like to check it out, I've *managed* to extract some .szp Luigi's Mansion files :laugh: Maybe you already have but would you like to take a look into them? I only extracted model files so far :( They're in .mdl + some other 5 or so folders which I can't remember the name of right now...

Koetsu

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Re: The Console Tool (by Low Lines)
« Reply #332 on: July 01, 2011, 01:19:22 pm »
There's has been next to no keyboard support to date, mostly due to the fact that I just haven't gotten round to it. I'm not quite sure where you'd be wanting to use arrow keys though, if you could please elaborate.
Well maybe it's just me, but I feel more comfortable navigating tree structures with the arrow keys. Arrows to open archives and browse through the archive up/down using the arrows. Maybe even pushing enter to open. Keystrokes are faster than mouse movements, and since the icons are small, this is actually easier to do.

Auryn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 650
    • View Profile
Re: The Console Tool (by Low Lines)
« Reply #333 on: July 19, 2011, 12:06:02 am »
Hi Lowlines,
I have a question and I am not sure if you can help me.
I am changing the number of cells in a NCER because I made some bigger and I want to delete the left over and soon I will need to add 1-2 cell to a NCER but I noticed that in both cases the game will display the graphic wrong and freeze.

Do you know what is the crucial value(s) that I need to change??
here a copy of the NANR:
524E414EFFFE0001
0F01000010000300
4B4E4241E0000000
0100110018000000
28000000B0000000
0000000000000000
1100000002000100
0100000000000000
000000000200EFBE
080000000200EFBE
000000000200EFBE
100000000200EFBE
000000000200EFBE
180000000200EFBE
000000000200EFBE
200000000200EFBE
000000000200EFBE
080000000200EFBE
000000000200EFBE
100000000200EFBE
000000000200EFBE
180000000400EFBE
000000000400EFBE
200000000400EFBE
000000000800EFBE
0000EFBE00000000
0000EFBE01000100
0000EFBEFFFFFFFF
0000EFBE0100FFFF
0000EFBEFFFF0100
4C42414C13000000000000006D61726B

It's the "shake" of the objection (take that, overruled, etc...) exclamation on screen in the Ace Attorney serie.

Thanks

Low Lines

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
    • View Profile
    • lowlines
Re: The Console Tool (by Low Lines)
« Reply #334 on: July 19, 2011, 07:02:45 am »
First off you got some conflicting information there...NANRs are for animation, so a data dump of them won't help with editing the cell layout. Secondly the manner in which you would go about editing a NCER would be dependent on the format/structure as there are several ways this is done. Lastly probably the best way to approach editing NCERs would be to decode them first into objects (thinking Java here), make the changes and then re-encode them back. Hex editing would be too unreliable because you are also dealing with offsets and such which might be where the crashing is happening.

Auryn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 650
    • View Profile
Re: The Console Tool (by Low Lines)
« Reply #335 on: July 19, 2011, 02:25:40 pm »
I got used to edit ncgr/ncer by hex paired with consoletool and cristaltile2 ... that's the only way to do it for now especially because i don't have programming skills.
All other works i have done is ok and working.

Now I have animation to take in consideration and what probably is the problem with the nanr, is the cell index or the bank ...i don't get that part :(
In a ncer a bank is a group of OAM (i call them cells :p or a layer) and in the nanr??
What is the cell index??
« Last Edit: July 19, 2011, 02:30:57 pm by Auryn »

Low Lines

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
    • View Profile
    • lowlines
Re: The Console Tool (by Low Lines)
« Reply #336 on: July 19, 2011, 05:03:04 pm »
As far as I recall NANRs only require a cell index for each frame, ie Display cell 0 for 0.5 secs then load and display cell 1 for 0.5 secs, so as long as you haven't modified the number of cells in the NCER they should still work properly.

Auryn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 650
    • View Profile
Re: The Console Tool (by Low Lines)
« Reply #337 on: July 20, 2011, 12:19:33 am »
OMG...is my english so bad??

For what I have done till now, it was ok to not change the number of cell in the NCER but for my future work I will need to change the number of cells to expand the text so I will need to change the NANR too but I not understand how I will need to change it.
What I not see is the connection between NANR and NCER in the NANR or if you want, what byte in the NANR call something from the NCER.
Let's parse the NANR together:

Nitro Header
524E414EFFFE0001
0F01000010000300 0100F>file size   10 header size    03> sections

Animation BaNK Section (ABNK)
4B4E4241E0000000
0100110018000000
28000000B0000000 E0> section size   01> banks    x11=17 frames and the 3 offset to bank/header/data block

Bank Block
1100000002000100
0100000000000000 x11=17 frames   x02> 8bytes data type and the 2 unknow values (my is 0101 and not 0102 :o)

Header Block
000000000200EFBE
080000000200EFBE
000000000200EFBE
100000000200EFBE
000000000200EFBE
180000000200EFBE
000000000200EFBE
200000000200EFBE
000000000200EFBE
080000000200EFBE
000000000200EFBE
100000000200EFBE
000000000200EFBE
180000000400EFBE
000000000400EFBE
200000000400EFBE
000000000800EFBE each line is a frame (with duration) and each of this lines calls one of the lines in the next block

Data Block (type 2)
0000EFBE00000000
0000EFBE01000100
0000EFBEFFFFFFFF
0000EFBE0100FFFF
0000EFBEFFFF0100 basically move all the cells (found in offset 0000 in the NCER cell bank*) from x,y=0,0 to the various combinations of (+1,-1) passing by 0,0 for every second frame.

Next block is just label.

If everthing is correct in my parsing, it should not matter how many cells I have in the NCER because the first cell will always be at 0000 in the NCER cell bank*.
Or where i do a mistake??


PS: I forgot to post a suggestion....a zoom in the viewer. When trying to look small images especially to check if there are misplaced pixels after an edit :p
« Last Edit: July 20, 2011, 12:27:15 am by Auryn »

Low Lines

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
    • View Profile
    • lowlines
Re: The Console Tool (by Low Lines)
« Reply #338 on: July 20, 2011, 06:19:16 am »
As stated on my blog, I just discovered that all my online docs on these file formats have reverted to the outdated versions from earlier this year. This probably happened during the last server downtime that happened a little while back (blame the retards that get off hacking into websites >_>). I've re-uploaded the updated versions so if you were at all using them as a reference, it might be a bit more clearer now (since the changes incorporate Garyong's notes), however other than that I can't help much since my studies have started again.

Auryn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 650
    • View Profile
Re: The Console Tool (by Low Lines)
« Reply #339 on: July 20, 2011, 05:12:53 pm »
umm..understood.
I just gave a quick look at it and it doesn't change anything for me :(
Thanks anyway.


UPDATE: It was my mistake, I was messing up the file size, the section size and there was 2 unneeded bytes just before the LALB in the NCER and not a problem in the NANR.
CT was showing everything right but the sum of all 3 things make the animation go gaga :)



July 23, 2011, 03:26:03 am - (Auto Merged - Double Posts are not allowed before 7 days.)
Hi Lowlines,
I am here to give other suggestions to Console Tool apart from the zoom in the last post.
First of all a "reload" button for the file loaded.
If I open a NCLR+NCGR+NCER (like I am doing in my work now) and while i have CT open (as reference or to check my last changes), I modify the NCER with an hexeditor, nothing happens in CT. For now i have to close the NCER (after edit it with the hex editor) and re-navigate to open it again. A reload button would be handy.

Second, that we can view more banks (layer) at the same time (something like the eye in photoshop).


This "Begin Investigation" (a montage here made in paint):

is splitted in 8 OAMs:

and divided in 4 different banks O.o

It was not so easy to align the OAMs.

I am looking forward to the new version of CT but I know it will take a while because of school. :woot!:


« Last Edit: July 23, 2011, 03:26:03 am by Auryn »