News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules

Author Topic: [Fangame] Megaman: Power Up!! (New title, New format)  (Read 100888 times)

johnny

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
    • View Profile
Re: New Mega Man 5 hack: Mega Man Powered Down
« Reply #80 on: December 29, 2008, 10:24:24 pm »
There's also plenty of software that would allow you to finish your Megaman 5 hack!

In fact, it will probably be much easier to do than writing your own Megaman engine. Not to mention there will be a lot more people who will play it.

Yeah that would be ideal if he can do all the stuff he'd like to do with it and the project doesn't have to lay unfinished. It would be a shame for that to happen.

Vanya

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1934
    • View Profile
Re: New Mega Man 5 hack: Mega Man Powered Down
« Reply #81 on: December 30, 2008, 10:32:42 am »
The thing with GameMaker 7.0 is that it has a bunch of modifications so that it would run in Vista. That kinda slowed things up for XP users. Phail. It runs well enough on my XP machine though.

At any rate I'll probably do both versions in the end anyway. Whatever I can't do in the hack will go into the homebrew. ^_^

Vanya

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1934
    • View Profile
Re: Hack Project: Mega Man Powered Down
« Reply #82 on: January 20, 2009, 06:11:16 pm »
New mugs courtesy of 'Shades of Green' and edited by me:

Killa B

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1153
  • Fallen Angel
    • View Profile
    • Killa B
Re: Hack Project: Mega Man Powered Down
« Reply #83 on: January 20, 2009, 06:16:38 pm »
Looks really nice. That's a lot of colors, too! :o
I always dreamed of doing a Pokemon hack

Vanya

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1934
    • View Profile
Re: Hack Project: Mega Man Powered Down
« Reply #84 on: January 20, 2009, 06:31:40 pm »
Thanks! I'm hoping I have enough space for the sprite portion of the mugs. I may even be able to work in some more colors. We'll see. ^_^


EDIT:
Alright! Here's the my progress with the new mugs IN-GAME!!

Woohoo! As can be seen in the screen shot; Oilman, Cutman, and Elecman's mugs are complete with sprites. All the other RM's just have their BG portions done.

I have enough space in the original sprite area to finish up Gutsman, Timeman, and most of Fireman. Then I'll have to ASM magick in the rest of the sprites for the remaining RMs. Fortunately, the routine that writes sprites to the OAM is really simple and adding in another read from a new location should be easy. I'll just have to find space for the new sprite data to reside.

Anyway here's the screen shot with the new palette revision.



Cutman was the biggest sprite hog. He's only 6 tiles, but took 12 sprite data entries to complete. Even time man with his multiple palettes is only 6 tiles & entries.

Also, I'm using a custom palette with the actual NES output colors.
« Last Edit: January 22, 2009, 01:13:21 am by Vanya »

Killa B

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1153
  • Fallen Angel
    • View Profile
    • Killa B
Re: Hack Project: Mega Man Powered Down
« Reply #85 on: January 22, 2009, 04:09:28 pm »
Sweet.
I always dreamed of doing a Pokemon hack

Vanya

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1934
    • View Profile
Re: Hack Project: Mega Man Powered Down
« Reply #86 on: January 23, 2009, 06:26:04 pm »
Updated first post with the final version of the select screen.
There's a new alpha patch available here.



I have a small glitch of unknown origin that I have to fix. For some reason I haven't figured out yet Cutman & Iceman's mugs aren't removed fully when a stage is selected and the screen does it's faux mosaic effect. If anyone has any idea why this is, please let me know. ^_^

odditude

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Re: Hack Project: Mega Man Powered Down
« Reply #87 on: January 23, 2009, 08:44:31 pm »
looks fantastic!

Vanya

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1934
    • View Profile
Re: Hack Project: Mega Man Powered Down
« Reply #88 on: January 27, 2009, 11:04:46 pm »
UPDATE: Started working on Cutman's stage. Let me know what you guys think! ^_^


Special T

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 573
    • View Profile
Re: Hack Project: Mega Man Powered Down
« Reply #89 on: January 28, 2009, 12:14:15 am »
I don't know if it's the emulator im using or not but i noticed when i cutman / bombman's face flashes when the cursor has certain other bosses selected i.e.

Cutmans face flashes when i have the cursor on Oilman

Bombman's face flashes when i have the cursor on Fireman

Im using Nestopia if that helps.

But it's looking good keep up the good work!

Vanya

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1934
    • View Profile
Re: Hack Project: Mega Man Powered Down
« Reply #90 on: January 28, 2009, 11:34:41 am »
Interesting. What version of NEStopia are you using? I just ran it on version 1.40 and it acted completely normal.

Thanks for the encouragement! ^_^
I'll be posting a new Alpha patch as soon as I finish Cutman's stage. Then I'll begin working on ASM hacking he enemies and boss to recreate the ones from MM1.

Edit:

New work on Cutman's stage (Still have to add the trees and scaffold-like stuff):



You guys will notice that I added a trans server pad to the first screen. I'm thinking of maybe adding in a way to exit the stage even before it has been cleared.
« Last Edit: February 03, 2009, 03:23:11 pm by Vanya »

Vanya

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1934
    • View Profile
Re: Hack Project: Mega Man Powered Down
« Reply #91 on: February 07, 2009, 12:24:03 am »
Found this today while hacking the gravity switching objects:

0x03EC6D to 0x03EC85 (18 bytes) Play music or sound effect routine. Set the accumulator to the value of a song or sound effect you want to play, then JSR to this routine to play it.

It may be useful for anyone hacking MM5. ^_^

Tater Bear

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 151
    • View Profile
Re: Hack Project: Mega Man Powered Down
« Reply #92 on: February 07, 2009, 02:22:30 am »
http://nesdev.parodius.com/bbs/viewtopic.php?t=4473&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0

I saw your post about needing help with music, Nesdev is the place to go... Check out the thread above, maybe he can give you some help

Special T

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 573
    • View Profile
Re: Hack Project: Mega Man Powered Down
« Reply #93 on: February 13, 2009, 12:28:45 am »
Interesting. What version of NEStopia are you using? I just ran it on version 1.40 and it acted completely normal.

sorry for the delayed response but I am using V 1.4

Vanya

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1934
    • View Profile
Re: Hack Project: Mega Man Powered Down
« Reply #94 on: February 13, 2009, 11:50:12 pm »
That's really odd. The emu is the same, maybe it's the rom you're patching to? I'll post some info about the rom I have. o_O

strfr

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Hack Project: Mega Man Powered Down
« Reply #95 on: February 18, 2009, 01:47:20 pm »
The problem is that there are too many sprites per scanline (i.e. too many sprites horizontally) in the rows with Cutman and Bombman each.  Since the blinking cursor uses up 2 sprites horizontally, all of the rows must use at most 6 sprites horizontally.  Evidently, the ones with Cutman and Bombman have more than that.  If you allow more than 8 sprites per scanline in the emulator, that hides the problem.  If this is set in your emulator, try disabling it and see.

Tauwasser

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1392
  • Fantabulous!!
    • View Profile
    • My blog
Re: Hack Project: Mega Man Powered Down
« Reply #96 on: February 18, 2009, 06:21:43 pm »
It's still not hardware compliant then... It works for the user on pc, but will fail on a real system... *cough*Bad planning*/cough*

cYa,

Tauwasser

Special T

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 573
    • View Profile
Re: Hack Project: Mega Man Powered Down
« Reply #97 on: February 19, 2009, 08:30:12 am »
It's still not hardware compliant then... It works for the user on pc, but will fail on a real system... *cough*Bad planning*/cough*

To be honest I think he's doing a really good job, a few small tweaks should take care of those minor issues.

In my opinion this is how MM1 should have been in the first place.

Vanya

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1934
    • View Profile
Re: Hack Project: Mega Man Powered Down
« Reply #98 on: February 19, 2009, 11:43:36 am »
I did totally forget that I had more than 8 sprites per scan line on. I should be able to fix this easily enough, though. Don't worry.

Thanks for the kind words, Special T. ^_^

I'm still working on Cutman's stage, BTW. Had to take a break, because I actually got called to work as a sub-contractor on an IT job for the last 6 days! Take that crappy economy! I worked for a week! Ha! ^_^

andwhyisit

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
Re: Hack Project: Mega Man Powered Down
« Reply #99 on: February 19, 2009, 10:45:34 pm »
It's still not hardware compliant then... It works for the user on pc, but will fail on a real system... *cough*Bad planning*/cough*
@Vanya: Why not test it on BSNES as you progress?