News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules

Author Topic: Anyone Interested in Doing "SMB Special" for NES?  (Read 313446 times)

SMB2J-2Q

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 135
    • View Profile
Re: Anyone Interested in Doing "SMB Special" for NES?
« Reply #480 on: September 24, 2008, 03:52:05 am »
The tall enemy bit in World 4-2 must be fixed (still not corrected in awhile).

Um, what now? Sorry, but if you explained this before, please do so again, I must have forgotten. What exactly is wrong in world 4-2? (If you have already explained it in detail, just point me to the post number or somethin`.)

Hi, I am referring to the fact one of the Spinys appears to be taller than usual here, and it is halfway through the underground portion of the stage. Play the stage again, and you'll find out why. I did so...

~Ben

frantik

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 644
    • View Profile
Re: Anyone Interested in Doing "SMB Special" for NES?
« Reply #481 on: September 24, 2008, 02:20:42 pm »
wat?  taller than usual?  pls take a screenshot.  they're always 16 pixels tall...

edit:  well there's defintely some weird bounding box issue cause mario will die when not even near the spineys
« Last Edit: September 24, 2008, 04:46:01 pm by frantik »

Karatorian

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 381
  • "Gotta get get ... 6502"
    • View Profile
    • Studio Karatorian
Re: Anyone Interested in Doing "SMB Special" for NES?
« Reply #482 on: September 24, 2008, 06:45:36 pm »
Well, I'll investigate, but I haven't a clue as to what would even cause such a thing, so this could take awhile. I don't think I've changed anything relevant. Arg.

On the other tentacle, due to the spagetti code nature of the enemy handling routines, the Red Piranha Plant changes are all over the place, perhaps I messed it up while implementing them.

I'll go take a look ... (Now where did I put that chainsaw?) ...

Edit

Ok, I got it figured out. It wasn't a bug created by me. Rather, spinies apparently aren't supposed to appear in the map like normal enemies. They act a little odd if you do. For instance, if you put spinies in a level, Latiku will appear a little ways past them. (Frantik worked around this odd effect.) However, their initialization code isn't set up to handle them as normal objects, so it made for some strange bugs.

Anyway, I added a proper initalizer to an unused object and I belive I've fixed it. You can get the patch at the usual location. I did some basic testing, but please test it some more.


« Last Edit: September 24, 2008, 10:04:29 pm by Karatorian »
Current ProjectsFinal Fantasy EngineSMB Special for NESStudio Karatorian
@loop: lda (src),y — sta (dst),y — iny — bne @loop — inc src+1 — inc dst+1 — dex — bne @loop

Darkdata

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
  • People who hurt others to feel better are idiots.
    • View Profile
Re: Anyone Interested in Doing "SMB Special" for NES?
« Reply #483 on: November 02, 2008, 08:01:10 pm »
So any more work done on this lately? Talk in #x wants to know. :P

Wario Bros.

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Anyone Interested in Doing "SMB Special" for NES?
« Reply #484 on: November 03, 2008, 04:26:05 pm »
So any more work done on this lately? Talk in #x wants to know. :P

I know progress seems to be slow but it doesn't feel right bumping this.

Well, sinced it's bumped, wouldn't this project been easier if you used Super Mario Bros.: The Lost Levels instead since you could replace stuff like the Poison Mushroom with something else.

Keep up the good work on this project!!
« Last Edit: November 04, 2008, 04:54:40 pm by Wario Bros. »

Googie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1073
  • Keepin' ROM Hacking gangsta since 2003, baby!
    • View Profile
    • My work in progress ROM Hacking site
Re: Anyone Interested in Doing "SMB Special" for NES?
« Reply #485 on: November 22, 2008, 11:40:19 am »
Sorry for the bump fellas, I'm curious on how the progress is going too. I'm sure that real life is getting in the way, now that the holidays are coming maybe'll be more free time to work on this hack if anything hopefully.

Everytime I play the old betas I get really hyped on how the Mario Bros. enemies'll work. ^_^' 

frantik

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 644
    • View Profile
Re: Anyone Interested in Doing "SMB Special" for NES?
« Reply #486 on: November 22, 2008, 01:43:05 pm »
well i don't want to burst anyone's bubbles but somehow i don't think we'll ever see new enemies.  i'm pretty much done with what i was planning on contributing to SMBS and Karatorian seems to have a lot of other projects going too.. i'd really like to get a releasable port done (w/o the new enemies) though


Karatorian

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 381
  • "Gotta get get ... 6502"
    • View Profile
    • Studio Karatorian
Re: Anyone Interested in Doing "SMB Special" for NES?
« Reply #487 on: November 24, 2008, 12:09:35 am »
Sorry I've gone AWOL again. I've been working out of town and don't have a laptop, so I've got no way to work on any of my projects during the week. Spending all week living in a motel, I'd rather spend my weekends out with friends, so I haven't really done any computer related stuff lately. My personal life has also been rather complicated of late.

The job I'm currently on should only last another week or two, so I should be able to find some more free time to work on SMBS. (No promises. The next job could be stay-away as well. Construction in the winter tends to get like that.)

I'll look into the corrupted archive of the latest patch. I'm not sure what happend with that, but I'll look into it. I'm sorry I don't have time to do more at the moment, but I haven't forgotten you guys. (I might have some free time next weekend, we'll see.)

As for the new enemies, I havn't abandoned the idea yet. However, I'm not working on the project several hours a day like I once was. It could take some time, but don't give up hope just yet.
Current ProjectsFinal Fantasy EngineSMB Special for NESStudio Karatorian
@loop: lda (src),y — sta (dst),y — iny — bne @loop — inc src+1 — inc dst+1 — dex — bne @loop

MathUser2929

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1645
    • View Profile
Re: Anyone Interested in Doing "SMB Special" for NES?
« Reply #488 on: December 12, 2008, 05:42:51 pm »
I dunno, it seems sort of stupid that the project is so close to being finished and it could be dead. I mean, the level layouts are done. We can essentially play it from beginning to end on our own. I hope this thing gets finished.

Karatorian

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 381
  • "Gotta get get ... 6502"
    • View Profile
    • Studio Karatorian
Official Beta Test Released
« Reply #489 on: February 17, 2009, 04:05:22 pm »
After long (and unfortunate) delays, I've just posted the first offical beta test release to the RHDN database. So please grab it and give it a spin. It should show up in the DB shortly, but in the meantime you can get it at my new website.

Now before anyone gets their hopes up, there are no major changes in this release. Just a few minor tweaks and a README. I haven't added any new enemies, new power ups or any of that. I know many of you where looking forward to those changes, but I simply don't have the time (at the moment) to impliment them. So, rather than leave the project in limbo, me and Frantik (he's busy with other things too) have decided to release the 1.0 version.

To that end, we're running an official beta test before we wrap the project up. If all goes well, this will be the 1.0 version. If not, we'll run some more betas. So please test this release if you're at all interested in this hack. I'm assembling a list of playtesters (see the README for details), so you'll all get your fair share of the credit. Testing on hardware would be especially appreciated.

Also, I'm running a mini screenshot contests. The final details havn't been worked out yet, but the best four will get thier screenshots featured in the database (and full credit, of course). So if you've got better skillz than me (I suck at Mario and cheat like crazy to test), grab a shot of anything cool or funny (or buggy, but that's another matter) and hold onto it. I'll work out the full rules and post them shortly.

I know a lot of you wanted more, but I'm not going to promise what I can't deliver, so I won't. Once 1.0 is out, I'll release another source package, so anyone who wants to take it to the next level can do so. (I've already started working on making it possible to build on a platform other than un*x, so that issue should be fixed by then.)

Once again, I'm very sorry that several planned (and much anticipated) features got cut and that I've dissappeared on you so many times. I'm very thankful for all the support, encouragement, advice, critiques, testing, and bug reports you've provided. It's been a great experiance.
Current ProjectsFinal Fantasy EngineSMB Special for NESStudio Karatorian
@loop: lda (src),y — sta (dst),y — iny — bne @loop — inc src+1 — inc dst+1 — dex — bne @loop

Bitch In The Red Dress

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Anyone Interested in Doing "SMB Special" for NES?
« Reply #490 on: February 19, 2009, 08:59:12 am »
2-1 froze on me after climbing a vine. Music continued to play, but Mario never appeared on the screen.

Karatorian

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 381
  • "Gotta get get ... 6502"
    • View Profile
    • Studio Karatorian
Re: Anyone Interested in Doing "SMB Special" for NES?
« Reply #491 on: February 19, 2009, 06:42:51 pm »
Doh. Ok, I think I know what's going on there. There was a vine related bug in 4-3, so I changed the vine code a little bit. I must have broken it completely. I'll go straighten that out. Thanks for the report.

Edit

Should be fixed now. You can get beta two here. Sorry for the inconvience.
« Last Edit: February 19, 2009, 10:05:19 pm by Karatorian »
Current ProjectsFinal Fantasy EngineSMB Special for NESStudio Karatorian
@loop: lda (src),y — sta (dst),y — iny — bne @loop — inc src+1 — inc dst+1 — dex — bne @loop

frantik

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 644
    • View Profile
Re: Anyone Interested in Doing "SMB Special" for NES?
« Reply #492 on: February 19, 2009, 10:26:52 pm »
 :crazy:

Next Gen Cowboy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1766
  • "People are like dice"
    • View Profile
Re: Anyone Interested in Doing "SMB Special" for NES?
« Reply #493 on: February 19, 2009, 10:34:15 pm »
That is one of the most useless post I have ever seen. Grow up, please!
"Remember when we were in Japan? You said you were my gun, if you're the gun then that means I'm the bullet."

"All my life I've been waiting for the gunpowder to go off, you know what you need to ignite gunpowder? You need a gun."

frantik

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 644
    • View Profile
Re: Anyone Interested in Doing "SMB Special" for NES?
« Reply #494 on: February 19, 2009, 10:39:34 pm »
lol, chill out dude, i was just excited that this hack got released after all of my hard word on it

i did get a kick out of a 22 year old kid telling me to grow up though  :thumbsup:


Next Gen Cowboy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1766
  • "People are like dice"
    • View Profile
Re: Anyone Interested in Doing "SMB Special" for NES?
« Reply #495 on: February 19, 2009, 10:42:46 pm »
I didn't get a kick out of it, hence a warning has been issued, as I said, please do not make such useless post, it is very annoying.
"Remember when we were in Japan? You said you were my gun, if you're the gun then that means I'm the bullet."

"All my life I've been waiting for the gunpowder to go off, you know what you need to ignite gunpowder? You need a gun."

frantik

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 644
    • View Profile
Re: Anyone Interested in Doing "SMB Special" for NES?
« Reply #496 on: February 19, 2009, 10:47:53 pm »
lol.. i'm sure it felt good to send that warning.   :woot!:

anyways, thanks Karatorian for finishing up the loose ends on this hack.  Looking forward to the final beta testing and official release!!

Karatorian

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 381
  • "Gotta get get ... 6502"
    • View Profile
    • Studio Karatorian
Re: Anyone Interested in Doing "SMB Special" for NES?
« Reply #497 on: February 19, 2009, 11:16:55 pm »
You're welcome. It's been stagnant for entirely too long and so close to presentable too. Oh well, it's out now. Hopefully we don't run into anymore major bugs. (The vines being completely borked was embarassing.)

Re Next Gen Cowboy: I should probably keep my mouth shut, but I ain't like that, so ... fratik's post was actually on-topic (if a little vapid) and appreciated (by me if not you). On the other tentacle, you've done nothing but derail the thread.
Current ProjectsFinal Fantasy EngineSMB Special for NESStudio Karatorian
@loop: lda (src),y — sta (dst),y — iny — bne @loop — inc src+1 — inc dst+1 — dex — bne @loop

Next Gen Cowboy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1766
  • "People are like dice"
    • View Profile
Re: Anyone Interested in Doing "SMB Special" for NES?
« Reply #498 on: February 19, 2009, 11:37:50 pm »
I am not in the mood of catering to your ego, post like that are against the rules, if you have a problem pm me with it, if you cannot follow the rules then warnings will be issued, what is so difficult to figure out about that? Enough of this all together, you have problems contact me with them, if you don't let it go.

"Remember when we were in Japan? You said you were my gun, if you're the gun then that means I'm the bullet."

"All my life I've been waiting for the gunpowder to go off, you know what you need to ignite gunpowder? You need a gun."

Bitch In The Red Dress

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Anyone Interested in Doing "SMB Special" for NES?
« Reply #499 on: February 20, 2009, 02:46:29 pm »
More vine glitchiness.

The vine in 2-1 works now. For some reason after climbing it, going through the coin area, and finishing the level, the victory music glitched. It played for about one second and then returned to the basic level theme. I'm not 100% sure this is related to the vines, I haven't had a chance to retest that level yet.

Also, climbed a vine in 4-3 and could not escape the area. I don't know if there's something I'm missing, but the pipe does not function. All I could do was wait for the time to run out.

Edit: Two of 7-4's pipes lead you to a small area that you only barely have enough room to escape from. If you head slightly to the right as you get out of the pipe, the screen will scroll to that direction and leave you unable to do anything but wait for death. Yes, I know you have to be dumb to do this.

I've cleared the game now and haven't found any other issues.
« Last Edit: February 20, 2009, 03:58:58 pm by Bitch In The Red Dress »