News:

11 March 2016 - Forum Rules

Main Menu

Neo Geo Pocket Color Rom Save Editor?

Started by NewSlang22, November 16, 2021, 10:16:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

NewSlang22

Hello!  I'm new to rom hacking and I recently acquired a flash cart for the Neo Geo Pocket Color called a "NeoPocket Game Drive". In trying to get a rom of King of Fighters R-2 with all secret characters unlocked I turned up short. I couldn't find any NGPC roms with any modifications (other than different languages) or unlocked secret characters.

In my search I actually came upon a youtube video of King of Fighters R-2 with all secret characters unlocked and the author uploaded the save information for these unlocked characters via .NGF files. Apparently these .NGF are "battery saves" which were taken from the authors NeoPop NGPC emulator battery save folder. Now, the Neo Pocket Game Drive actually puts the save information onto the rom itself, which is stored on the flash memory of the flash cart. So say for instance when you want to delete a game from the flash memory but wanted to save the game progress so that you can install it again at a later time, the flash cart would import the rom with the save progress (the save information being on the rom itself) back onto the SD card that is plugged into the cart. So basically I was wondering, is there any possible way to "inject" or "patch" a NGPC rom with save information from a .NGF file which would merge the save info on the rom itself? I apologize for the long winded post but it was kind of difficult for me to find the right words to explain it.

Jorpho

Your post is more than a little unclear, yes.

Quotethe flash cart would import the rom with the save progress (the save information being on the rom itself) back onto the SD card that is plugged into the cart.
So is the "battery save" stored separately from the ROM, or not?