News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules

Author Topic: How to use AFS Packer?  (Read 886 times)

onepkvn1

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
How to use AFS Packer?
« on: October 23, 2021, 10:28:22 am »
https://www.romhacking.net/utilities/843/


This seems like a useful tool, but I can't for the life of me figure out how to use it, did someone know how this works?

Cyneprepou4uk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 734
  • I am the baldest romhacker
    • View Profile
Re: How to use AFS Packer?
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2021, 11:17:31 am »
Probably via batch file. Write a command and launch it.

onepkvn1

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: How to use AFS Packer?
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2021, 12:30:23 pm »
Thanks, that works, but new problem ensues

Now it tells me it's missing hostfxr.dll, and I did install .NET Core Runtime 3.1 on my computer as instructed, so I don't know what I did wrong now.

« Last Edit: October 23, 2021, 12:38:24 pm by onepkvn1 »

Jorpho

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5065
  • The cat screams with the voice of a man.
    • View Profile
Re: How to use AFS Packer?
« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2021, 12:59:04 pm »
Well, that's something.

Is the file hostfxr.dll definitely on your hard drive somewhere?

What do you get if you type "set DOTNET_ROOT" at the command line?

If you're comfortable using regedit, can you see if there is in fact anything at the specified registry location?
This signature is an illusion and is a trap devised by Satan. Go ahead dauntlessly! Make rapid progres!

onepkvn1

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: How to use AFS Packer?
« Reply #4 on: October 23, 2021, 08:58:46 pm »
Well, that's something.

Is the file hostfxr.dll definitely on your hard drive somewhere?

I'm not sure if it's anywhere on my drive, but it's definitely not inside C:\Program Files\dotnet, in fact there's no dll files in that folder.

What do you get if you type "set DOTNET_ROOT" at the command line?

Do you mean put it in the batch file?

If you're comfortable using regedit, can you see if there is in fact anything at the specified registry location?

Nope, it's not there

Jorpho

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5065
  • The cat screams with the voice of a man.
    • View Profile
Re: How to use AFS Packer?
« Reply #5 on: October 23, 2021, 09:59:31 pm »
I'm not sure if it's anywhere on my drive, but it's definitely not inside C:\Program Files\dotnet, in fact there's no dll files in that folder.
If you don't know how to search your hard drive, I recommend Wizfile.

If it isn't anywhere on your hard drive, then that suggests something went wrong during the .NET Core Runtime 3.1 installation. Perhaps you installed the x86 version instead of the x64 version?

Quote
Do you mean put it in the batch file?
You could do that, or you could just run it from the command line.
This signature is an illusion and is a trap devised by Satan. Go ahead dauntlessly! Make rapid progres!

onepkvn1

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: How to use AFS Packer?
« Reply #6 on: October 24, 2021, 04:30:29 am »
If it isn't anywhere on your hard drive, then that suggests something went wrong during the .NET Core Runtime 3.1 installation. Perhaps you installed the x86 version instead of the x64 version?

That is it, and what I got from the AFS file is a lot of bin files, is there any tools I can use to view them, and potentially modifying them with?