News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules

Author Topic: (Genesis) shamefully asking for some directions... (palette issue)  (Read 361 times)

pArL

• View Profile
Hello, I finally decided to log here. (I hope I'm making this thread in the appropriate place).

I think rom hacking is such an interesting endeavor, so I decided to give it a try for my favorite system (Genesis).

I was hesitant to ask but since I read a lot of very helpful interactions with newbies here I decided to also seek guidance. I'm not very technical inclined, but I managed to make use of Hivepal, TM/TLP and several emulators for debugging to edit graphics and palettes.

My problem comes with a specific game, Batman Returns, in which both version I have (one as a cart) have things that are puzzling me.

First rom (world): Has several duplicated palettes (I have 11 different offsets in Hivepal, all with the same 16 colors) and just 2 or 3 of them change the colors (of Batman, he), but only in some cutscenes, never in the actual gameplay.

Second rom (U): Appears different in Tile Layer Pro and in Hivepal. I also found the palettes here, but they appear all purple/pink in Hivepal, as shown here:

Spoiler:

Are any of these difficulties I'm finding known?, is there anything I should know that could help me? I reached this point where I'm stuck but feeling so close to make this, I'm actually amazed I got this far to be honest.

Anyways, thanks in advance!

FAST6191

• View Profile
Re: (Genesis) shamefully asking for some directions... (palette issue)
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2021, 02:56:15 pm »
Duplicated palettes is nothing outrageous -- I once had a DS game have little reaction character animations but each frame of the animation had its own palette. I would not necessarily expect to see it much on the megadrive but changing tiles, changing palettes, changing location/scale/rotation/flip on screen... they are the big three methods of 2d animations.