News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules

Author Topic: How To Unpack/Repack PS1/PS2 Roms?  (Read 461 times)

Eternal-Aurath

• View Profile
How To Unpack/Repack PS1/PS2 Roms?
« on: July 16, 2021, 02:55:55 pm »
I'm new to rom hacking and I wanna start simple with just texture editing the original Spyro trilogy for PS1/PSX. But for the life of me I can't figure out how to go about unpacking the rom (Mine is in .bin format) to access the files, and then repack it so it'll play after I've edited the textures.

I've looked around for tools that can do this, but just can't seem to find any? Also, I'm not looking to upscale the textures into HD or anything yet, I just wanna make my own to see how it looks and dip my toes into rom hacking.

FAST6191

• View Profile
Re: How To Unpack/Repack PS1/PS2 Roms?
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2021, 03:11:07 pm »
Generally the PS1 uses a fairly standard iso 9660 file system (as in pop it in your computer's CD drive and you can read the files quite happily), not sure offhand what particular restrictions and limitations. PS2 uses the equivalent boring and basic DVD one, though again I am not sure what restrictions it might impose (there are various levels that do different things but let's skip that for now).

The trouble comes in that unlike later systems then there were few standards at the time, and unofficially all the various CD ripping and burning programs competed against each other (nero with NRG, clonecd with its one, cdrwin and a few others being more popular but plenty of others). This tends to mean today you can burn whatever you like (good old imgburn probably handling most things out there) but pulling apart and reassembling can be tricky. Many then get the original game and rip it themselves to spare hassle, at least until it comes time to patch the thing and someone wants to use their vintage iso.