News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules

Author Topic: Translations: Dragon Quest I + II in English fully bugfixed, finally, after 20 years, how it must be!  (Read 10257 times)

Stifu

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
I'm sorry if I was a little extravagant with that cracktro style. But I'm in love with 90's/80's demoscene, and besides, the name of our ROMhacking group is "Crackowia".

Yes, that's how I understood it, but I believe it was a bit heavy handed. Even back then, some were more subtle or classy than others. It's fine to me when people want to show off fancy effects and all, but keep the text readable and don't make me dizzy.

Anyway, d0pefish is right. I didn't mean to sound ungrateful. Thanks for your work. I'm keeping the new intro, it's nice.
« Last Edit: June 22, 2021, 05:53:42 pm by Stifu »

niuus

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 252
    • View Profile
The web of Crackowia, yes. I forgot to put the "a" in the version mumber, but was updated.

No problem if people individually remove the splash screen if it pisses them off. But in the general public release it's convenient to put it. I already showed my reasons for that in another thread. But I'm working in changing it by a static one in the next update (that will be ready in this night).

I'm sorry if I was a little extravagant with that cracktro style. But I'm in love with 90's/80's demoscene, and besides, the name of our ROMhacking group is "Crackowia".


June 21, 2021, 06:42:55 pm - (Auto Merged - Double Posts are not allowed before 7 days.)
New patch 1.03c with new static splash screen and new fixings ready!
http://crackowia.gq/dqust1n2.html
(More information about such fixings in the readme or the submitting queue).
Thanks for the translation. I'll play the game for the first time thanks to your patch.  :beer:

Is there a way for me to obtain previous versions of the patch for my offline patch library?

RodMerida

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
    • View Profile
Ufff...
I don't tend to save them.
But I could reproduce them by reading the readme history, and send them to you.

June 23, 2021, 02:58:38 am - (Auto Merged - Double Posts are not allowed before 7 days.)
but keep the text readable and don't make me dizzy.

It was a mistake not to change that. Proof that I'm not obsessed with my name being read and being famous, I just mentioned it. Anyway it can be stopped and read by holding A-button in the right moment (it's even funny). I recognize it's a mischevious screen.

Quote from: Stifu
Thanks for your work. I'm keeping the new intro, it's nice.
Thank you! You do the right.
« Last Edit: June 23, 2021, 04:48:00 am by RodMerida »

niuus

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 252
    • View Profile
Ufff...
I don't tend to save them.
But I could reproduce them by reading the readme history, and send them to you.
I would certainly appreciate it. Wish i would have found out about this translation from the beginning.  :banghead:

FCandChill

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 592
    • View Profile
Thanks for the translation. I'll play the game for the first time thanks to your patch.  :beer:

Is there a way for me to obtain previous versions of the patch for my offline patch library?

I still had an older version of the patch on my machine. Here you go...

https://mega.nz/file/Zmx0ADQL#addsrCdeBkxbnupQU72MlSKrone8NzG4cNnamTqKWlU

niuus

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 252
    • View Profile
I still had an older version of the patch on my machine. Here you go...

https://mega.nz/file/Zmx0ADQL#addsrCdeBkxbnupQU72MlSKrone8NzG4cNnamTqKWlU
Nice, thanks! Really wanted to have the version with the rotating splash screen for archival-historic purposes.
« Last Edit: June 24, 2021, 03:36:34 am by niuus »

RodMerida

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
    • View Profile
Nice, thanks! Really wanted to have the version with the rotating splash screen for archival-historic purposes.
:D!
I have it! Look:
https://www.mediafire.com/file/3ohwge4bq44k2c2/DQUST1C2.OLD/file
This is version 1.02 (it already included the name Gwaelin replaced to Laura in the first dialog of DQ1, but still the spinning splash screen had not been replaced, and the checksum is right. You still had to push A-button once more when making field magic, so there was no text overflow yet when using Antidote or Revive in the field).

Check if it's the same than FCandChill's, please.


And this is version 1.03 (still with spinning screen, that didn't get changed until 1.03c):
https://www.mediafire.com/file/25yi1a19ridsiaj/DQUEST1n2Fixed-1_03.zip/file

This version 1.0, that had an almost game breaking bug when using Search with the Hero dead (I don't recommend it):
https://www.mediafire.com/file/dbc1jpssh5vjos7/DQUEST1n2Fixed-1_0.zip/file

They were all in my download folder, since days ago.


June 24, 2021, 11:30:07 am - (Auto Merged - Double Posts are not allowed before 7 days.)
_____
New version of the patch ready (v.1.04):
http://crackowia.gq/dqust1n2.html
It fixes a glitch that misinformed the total amount of money stored in the vault, when bigger than 65535, saying instead a very small quantity, what made us believe we had lost our money (even though it was still there).

Thanks to Lilpuddy38 and Dudejo for their very much contributing to the betatestings, the 1st in DQ1, and the 2nd, in DQ2.
« Last Edit: June 24, 2021, 11:31:21 am by RodMerida »

niuus

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 252
    • View Profile
:D!
I have it! Look:
https://www.mediafire.com/file/3ohwge4bq44k2c2/DQUST1C2.OLD/file
This is version 1.02 (it already included the name Gwaelin replaced to Laura in the first dialog of DQ1, but still the spinning splash screen had not been replaced, and the checksum is right. You still had to push A-button once more when making field magic, so there was no text overflow yet when using Antidote or Revive in the field).

Check if it's the same than FCandChill's, please.


And this is version 1.03 (still with spinning screen, that didn't get changed until 1.03c):
https://www.mediafire.com/file/25yi1a19ridsiaj/DQUEST1n2Fixed-1_03.zip/file

This version 1.0, that had an almost game breaking bug when using Search with the Hero dead (I don't recommend it):
https://www.mediafire.com/file/dbc1jpssh5vjos7/DQUEST1n2Fixed-1_0.zip/file

They were all in my download folder, since days ago.


June 24, 2021, 11:30:07 am - (Auto Merged - Double Posts are not allowed before 7 days.)
_____
New version of the patch ready (v.1.04):
http://crackowia.gq/dqust1n2.html
It fixes a glitch that misinformed the total amount of money stored in the vault, when bigger than 65535, saying instead a very small quantity, what made us believe we had lost our money (even though it was still there).

Thanks to Lilpuddy38 and Dudejo for their very much contributing to the betatestings, the 1st in DQ1, and the 2nd, in DQ2.
Thanks for your time!

lilpuddy31

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
    • View Profile
Quote
Thanks to Lilpuddy38

*lilpuddy31 😆😁

RodMerida

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
    • View Profile
Haha.
I have changed you.

travel27

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 183
    • View Profile
no offense but i thought there was a style guide + certain level of English grammatical requirement for news posts for the site

i couldn't finish reading this news post

Take a hike.  English isn't his first language.  Do you even speak another language or are you still focused on remembering to capitalize the pronoun "I"?

Thanks for all the effort, some people appreciate your hard work, ignore some of the other negative people.  Learning a second, or third language is tough, don't let some of these people get you down!

travel27

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 183
    • View Profile
I was perfectly willing to continue staying out of this thread as well as the other one and let discourse take its natural course despite some of the things I had said.


You decided to drag me back into it over a week after my last post. I'm justified in telling you to go stick your head in a pig.

I am done with you, going to play Wild Arms 3 for an hour and meet up with my gf in an hour for a drink.  Have fun with your pigs or whatever, dude.

GOOD JOB RM, push past the nonsense you get and keep up the nice work.

RodMerida

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
    • View Profile
GOOD JOB RM, push past the nonsense you get and keep up the nice work.
Thank you very much.

going to play Wild Arms 3 for an hour and meet up with my gf in an hour for a drink.
You do the right!




dudejo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Personally, I think he's been pretty appreciative of the time I've put into bug-hunting for the DQ2 half of the translation.

Not to mention he HAS listened to the people who hated the spinning logo and made it much easier to ignore.

I say he deserves a "cerveza" ;)

BTW, check out the patch again, he's uploaded what should be the definitive version. More bugs and text formatting issues have been ironed out since the first release.
« Last Edit: June 29, 2021, 07:07:28 pm by dudejo »

lilpuddy31

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
    • View Profile
Personally, I think he's been pretty appreciative of the time I've put into bug-hunting for the DQ2 half of the translation.

Not to mention he HAS listened to the people who hated the spinning logo and made it much easier to ignore.

I say he deserves a "cerveza" ;)

You're not wrong my friend. Between me and yourself, he's been harassed enough  :laugh:

RodMerida

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
    • View Profile
You're not wrong my friend. Between me and yourself, he's been harassed enough  :laugh:

I need some holidays. Lol.

Malu866

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
I think I found an glitch in Dragon Quest 2, if I go to "Status" and then to "Equip" the Princess name is covered by the box showing the equipment.

dudejo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
That menu glitch might take some time.

Sadly, no one knows how the menus are handled in the code so that behavior can't be fixed yet.

RodMerida

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
    • View Profile
If someone knows how to alter those coordinates I'm hearing.

Malu866

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Well, if you can't fix this glitch right now, you could fix this mistranslation.
In Dragon Quest II  theres a bunny girl who asks if you want a "puff-puff"
"Don’t you think I’m cute? Do you want a puff puff?"
And if you say "no" in the she says in the translation:
"Humph! What?! Not another homosexual…"
But this translation is wrong, what she really says is:
"Hmph! Gimme a break! So what if I’m an okama?! You meanie…"
In this case the word "okama" probably means "trans" or "crossdresser"
Clyde Mandelin made a article explaining it and uses Dragon Quest as one of many examples
You are familiar with him, right? He is a professional translator and he says this is a mistake in the fan translation.
https://legendsoflocalization.com/okama-in-game-translation/