News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Super Mario Bros. SoundEngine Question  (Read 1090 times)

Dracula X

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
    • My YouTube Page for ROM hacking
Super Mario Bros. SoundEngine Question
« on: April 09, 2021, 05:33:02 pm »
Is there's a way for me to move the SoundEngine to a different location? I'm trying to move it here to a new ROM location at $4000, but I can't get it to work.
I might go back to Thunder Force II hacking again.

FAST6191

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3104
    • View Profile
Re: Super Mario Bros. SoundEngine Question
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2021, 06:18:11 pm »
Moving things that are not straight data in a game is doable but usually fraught with if not difficulty then tedium.

For something like code then you tend to also have to go around hunting down every call, jump and reference to it in code, as well as taking care of any internals that might do a relative jump. I guess for Mario you have a nice disassembly to play with that might well save you some fiddling.

Dracula X

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
    • My YouTube Page for ROM hacking
Re: Super Mario Bros. SoundEngine Question
« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2021, 06:35:24 pm »
Ok! Are these the only Super Mario Bros. source code that most people use from this website?
I might go back to Thunder Force II hacking again.

frantik

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 599
    • View Profile
Re: Super Mario Bros. SoundEngine Question
« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2021, 01:31:18 am »
$4000 in NES memory is not someplace you can put code.  If you're trying to move it to that location in the file itself, there's already other stuff there.  SMB is packed full already, there is no open space to move things unless you use a mapper.  The music engine is self contained so it's easy to move it to a new bank, there's even a patch on this site that will set it up for you

Dracula X

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
    • My YouTube Page for ROM hacking
Re: Super Mario Bros. SoundEngine Question
« Reply #4 on: April 11, 2021, 04:12:03 pm »
Ok! Thanks! I'm also using a mapper.
I might go back to Thunder Force II hacking again.

frantik

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 599
    • View Profile
Re: Super Mario Bros. SoundEngine Question
« Reply #5 on: April 12, 2021, 04:30:11 am »
if you're using a mapper then you can put the music engine in a different bank and switch to it, but the code needs to exist between $8000 and $ffff in memory. 

Dracula X

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
    • My YouTube Page for ROM hacking
Re: Super Mario Bros. SoundEngine Question
« Reply #6 on: April 13, 2021, 12:32:47 am »
Ok! I manage to get SMBDis by doppelganger to work, and I will see what happens from there. Thanks!

4/15/2021
ASM6 was working this!
« Last Edit: April 15, 2021, 09:52:37 pm by Dracula X »
I might go back to Thunder Force II hacking again.