News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: [SNES][SMK][ASM] Where to put new ASM code?  (Read 1049 times)

MattCoalman

• View Profile
[SNES][SMK][ASM] Where to put new ASM code?
« on: March 28, 2021, 12:51:44 pm »
Hello everyone!

I am new to ROM hacking, and I have a question.
I would like to modify something in SMK, so I used the Mesen Debugger to locate the code I would like to modify and I successfully did! Now I need to add two ASM lines in a subroutine.
I know my code is working well because when i overwrite another subroutine to put my code, it is ok, but of course, the code from this other subroutine is damaged.

So, how can I do that? How can I add my two lines (5 bytes)? My plan was to create a subroutine where "there is free space", and to call it.

Thanks a lot for your help.

FAST6191

• View Profile
Re: [SNES][SMK][ASM] Where to put new ASM code?
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2021, 03:55:53 pm »
It is as you said. Find some space that is doing nothing and jump/branch to it (call if you prefer that parlance but calling a subroutine tends to evoke ideas of you passing data to and from it, which you may even do later, rather than needing space for a couple of instructions and maybe not even a single push and pop).
Some will make the space by optimising the game or something else in it, whether this is out and out optimisation, finding something not used by the hack or taking some space from a deleted function (if you delete all the anti piracy in a game then you probably have some space that is now not doing anything). Some will also come the other way and try to optimise both the thing you are subverting and the code you are adding to get it down small enough to be an in place hack (in place is nice as it makes it more likely to work with other hacks where someone took the first obvious choice for "ooh free space").