News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules

Author Topic: Need help patching Pc engine games  (Read 974 times)

facufeg86

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Need help patching Pc engine games
« on: March 18, 2021, 10:57:38 pm »
Hi guys, need some help:

i downloaded Bubblegum Crash patch for Pc Engine. I used Lunar ips pathcer in order to patch my japanese rom but it doesnt work (rom doesnt start). Qhat am i doing wrong?

Jorpho

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5005
  • The cat screams with the voice of a man.
    • View Profile
Re: Need help patching Pc engine games
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2021, 06:24:12 pm »
A link would be good, for starters.
https://www.romhacking.net/translations/1234/
Unfortunately there is no information there about what specific ROM it is supposed to work with.

Does your unpatched ROM work? What emulator are you using?
This signature is an illusion and is a trap devised by Satan. Go ahead dauntlessly! Make rapid progres!

KingMike

  • Forum Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7211
  • *sigh* A changed avatar. Big deal.
    • View Profile
Re: Need help patching Pc engine games
« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2021, 11:08:11 am »
I don't know why, but some PCE ROMs have headers and others don't.
If the headers are present, they are 512 bytes, the same as SNES so you could use a SNES Header tool to add/remove them before applying the patch.

And if you added a header before the patch, remove it after. From what I understand, PCE shouldn't need them.
"My watch says 30 chickens" Google, 2018

facufeg86

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Need help patching Pc engine games
« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2021, 01:52:54 pm »
A link would be good, for starters.
https://www.romhacking.net/translations/1234/
Unfortunately there is no information there about what specific ROM it is supposed to work with.

Does your unpatched ROM work? What emulator are you using?

Yes, the unpatched rom works. Im using Im using Beetle Pce via Retroarch. Ah, the rom is a .pce rom and Lunar Ips doesnt detected it when im about to patch it (i have to choose "All files")