News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules

Author Topic: Want to make a difficulty mod for Final Fantasy I (PSP ver.) but total newbie..  (Read 1299 times)

fourteenth_domino

• View Profile
So basically, I want to create a mod that restores the PSP version's overall difficulty curve to something closer to the NES or Origins versions. Similar to Jeff Ludwig's Mod of Balance for the GBA version, but a lot less extensive (mainly due to my limited ability). I've always hoped somebody would eventually make something like this, but after 14 years, no such mod exists for this version. So... I thought maybe I'd try to take it into my own hands. Could be a fun project, and hopefully others would enjoy it. If it weren't for the nerfed difficulty, I feel this would otherwise be the "ultimate" version of FF1, so I'd like to take a stab at making this reality.

The changes I want to make:

-Increase the amount of experience needed for each level up.
-Increase shop prices.
-Make Ethers and Phoenix Downs significantly rarer and/or more expensive.
-I'd keep the MP system, but maybe slow Max MP growth (or have spells cost more MP) to be more in line with the limited casts of the NES/PSX version.
-Maybe adjust some of the more overpowered weapons/items (i.e. the ones that let you cast Flare).
-Adjust boss HP (mostly raise them- this is the one area where I'd take a bit of personal liberty. I always felt that, even in the NES/PSX versions, a lot of boss fights were a tad underwhelming and ended too quickly.)

But for as much thought I've put into this, this brings me to my main issue... I have no experience with hacking, programming, etc., whatsoever. I have a basic understanding of how hexadecimal works, and I consider myself decent at learning new technical concepts, programs, etc. But alas, I'm just not there yet.