News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: MMC5 Bankswitch Code Question  (Read 975 times)

Dracula X

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
    • View Profile
    • My YouTube Page for ROM hacking
MMC5 Bankswitch Code Question
« on: October 16, 2020, 07:18:28 pm »
Can I put the bankswitch code to $8000-$BFFF or do I only need to do this in a fixed bank?
« Last Edit: October 16, 2020, 07:25:21 pm by Dracula X »
I might go back to Thunder Force II hacking again.

Cyneprepou4uk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 533
  • I am the baldest romhacker
    • View Profile
Re: MMC5 Bankswitch Code Question
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2020, 12:05:56 am »
Technically you can, that depends. Better use a fixed bank.
iromhacker.ru - NES ROM hacking tutorials for beginners. Please use Google Translate browser extension

Dracula X

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
    • View Profile
    • My YouTube Page for ROM hacking
Re: MMC5 Bankswitch Code Question
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2020, 11:22:39 am »
Thanks for the info!
I might go back to Thunder Force II hacking again.

KingMike

  • Forum Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7038
  • *sigh* A changed avatar. Big deal.
    • View Profile
Re: MMC5 Bankswitch Code Question
« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2020, 06:58:50 pm »
If you try to put your bankswap code in the same bank you are trying to swap out, you'll need to have proper code at the same place in the newly swapped bank or it'll crash.
"My watch says 30 chickens" Google, 2018