News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: How to start? And a question about N64 games.  (Read 798 times)

ius_pizza

• View Profile
How to start? And a question about N64 games.
« on: October 02, 2020, 02:33:12 pm »
Hello, this is my first message here. I have not found a presentation thread so I take the opportunity to say that I am a law student who was always curious about game translations and would like to learn the basics as a hobby.

I have two questions:
1- Is there a tutorial for noobs to learn to translate? I found one from about 12 years ago, but most tools didn't work with Windows 10 and I couldn't do anything.

2- There are N64 games that save game on the cartridge itself and others that require memory pak. Nowadays, with flashcards, the games that save games in the cartridge save inside the SD card. Would it be possible to hack the ROM of the games that save in a memory pak so that they save games as if the original cartridge had had its own SRAM?

It has caught my attention that in the NES there are hacks of this type to record / load games in the flashcards of games that used passwords. On the other hand, in N64 I have not seen anything. Is it impossible?

Thank you.
« Last Edit: October 02, 2020, 05:06:21 pm by ius_pizza »

Jorpho

• The cat screams with the voice of a man.
    • View Profile
Re: How to start? And a question about N64 games.
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2020, 10:01:20 pm »
I have not found a presentation thread
There is an "Introduction Topic" stickied at the top of the forum.

I have two questions:
1- Is there a tutorial for noobs to learn to translate? I found one from about 12 years ago, but most tools didn't work with Windows 10 and I couldn't do anything.
Could you provide a link to the one that you found?

DOS-based tools can usually be run in Windows 10 using DOSBox.