News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Trying to translate Endonesia (PS2)  (Read 878 times)

loukas808

• View Profile
Trying to translate Endonesia (PS2)
« on: July 14, 2020, 11:16:42 am »
Hello everyone,
I am a complete beginner who has decided to try and see how difficult it would be to translate the game dialog text for Endonesia.
After extracting all the files from the cd image, i quickly discovered that the text is encoded in EUC-JP, inside a "exo.bin" file.
altough i'm able to edit and in-game display text using the 2 bytes latin characters,

the game doesn't display the standard ASCII 1 byte set (except for the whitespace, hex value 20).

After digging further in the hex code, i found the pointers table after every "block" of strings:

Those bytes give the (reversed) distance from a fixed point before the block.
I succesfully played around with those pointers and this gives some freedom for space management.
Not being able to type in standard ascii text imposes a heavy limitation, making any translation attempt impossible.
I don't have any experience in ASM hacking and can't really find any documentation that would lead me to anything useful for this purpose.
So, before giving up completely, i decided to ask here for any kind of help/guidance.

Risae

• View Profile
Re: Trying to translate Endonesia (PS2)
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2020, 01:37:53 pm »
Hi loukas808,

a dirty solution would be to

1. Find and edit the font file and overwrite the japanese characters with latin ones
2. dump the script with the pointers using Cartographer/abcde
3. use a modified table file that uses the japanese hex codes and translates those to the latin characters
4. reimport the translated strings into the game using Atlas/abcde

But this still wouldn't fix the width issue.