News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Advice on finding pointers using PPSSPP  (Read 340 times)

kenaku

• View Profile
Advice on finding pointers using PPSSPP
« on: June 22, 2020, 11:05:35 am »
Hello, i am just beginning at romhacking and decided to start with Tales of Rebirth (PsP), so far i have pointer tables for  things like items, equipment, skills and the like, but even though i know where the menu text is inside the ISO and where is loaded into memory and can't find any pointer to it. Can someone give me an advice at this?

FAST6191

• View Profile
Re: Advice on finding pointers using PPSSPP
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2020, 01:37:47 pm »
Are there no sections of random (though probably getting larger and larger) numbers at the start or end of the text file? Or other files that maybe have a different extension to the text or are relatively speaking far smaller, or maybe one other file along with a bunch of text?

Being the PSP I could possibly expect to see it be some kind of scripted (basically pointer/length value at the start of each section) or parsed format (it has a little end of line value it uses to detect a new line/section). Fixed length could be an option but tends to be reserved for menus as even Japanese struggles with that for normal spoken text.
Outside chance that the text is in the ISO/ROM but the pointers are housed in the binary.

If we have to play debugger then that is an option. You would want to watch how it parses out the text and fetches it from memory for graphical stuff and then where it finds that in the ROM. That will find it but it is tedious