News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Porblem with MK0 in flashcart  (Read 974 times)

bradzx

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 280
    • View Profile
Porblem with MK0 in flashcart
« on: June 21, 2020, 07:01:24 pm »
I don't understand why Mario Kart 0 is not working in flash cart.  I tried it on emulator and it work fine.   So how can I fix this hack for flash cart?
Are you huge fan of Megaman Xtreme 2?   Then check this progress of Remastered version!

Morinis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 495
  • Cupcakes and Pizza
    • View Profile
    • My YouTube
Re: Porblem with MK0 in flashcart
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2020, 09:33:51 pm »
First off, what kind of format is Mario Kart 0?  Is it like PAL?  NTSC-U? Emulators can run just about anything depending if they are updated and can run stuff however some emulators like VirtuaNES won't run some modified ROM's as it thinks its like a bootleg or unlicensed NES game.
ROM Hacker, Reviewer and Critic.

Don't Know What Else To Say So... <3 You!

bradzx

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 280
    • View Profile
Re: Porblem with MK0 in flashcart
« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2020, 10:44:40 pm »
First off, what kind of format is Mario Kart 0?  Is it like PAL?  NTSC-U? Emulators can run just about anything depending if they are updated and can run stuff however some emulators like VirtuaNES won't run some modified ROM's as it thinks its like a bootleg or unlicensed NES game.
What?   You didn't check the hack list?   It said USA rom.   It work on emulator but didnt work on flash cart.   So I want to know why it only work on emulator and not flash cart.
Are you huge fan of Megaman Xtreme 2?   Then check this progress of Remastered version!

FAST6191

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3052
    • View Profile
Re: Porblem with MK0 in flashcart
« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2020, 04:46:03 am »
What?   You didn't check the hack list?   It said USA rom.   It work on emulator but didnt work on flash cart.   So I want to know why it only work on emulator and not flash cart.

You are the one asking for help so it is your job to tell us what you are using, can also help to note what system it is for as a lot of things in ROM hacking are reasonably system specific, especially when it comes to debugging these sorts of issues. This is to say what patch and preferably where you got it (going by previous posts of yours here it could have been from some random forum post or maybe even a premade ROM). You would also do well to note what you are trying to run it on -- some fly by night R4 named thing on the DS vs say one the nice flash carts from a well known maker, or one of those weird SD launchers for the DSi/3ds. Equally do you have cheats running?
Basically make the life of the person that would be helping you as easy as possible short of sharing the ROM.

Anyway what does no$gba debug say when you try to run it? http://problemkaputt.de/gba.htm if it starts spitting errors about bad instructions, BIOS/SWI calls or similar then that is one thing.
GBA and DS ROMs not working on hardware for a thing ROM hackers will fix is something of a rarity (there are no inaccurate emulator only tricks like we saw for the SNES, no HD texture replacement in emulator like we commonly see on the N64 and gamecube) and most emulators are good about a lot of things here. There are still some things though (say compression not being compatible with the graphics side of things, easy to do for new hackers) and there could be some weird timing issue.
99% of the time though it is someone patched the wrong ROM, their flash cart/running method is bad, they left cheats on and it messed something up with the hack or some combo of the lot.

bradzx

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 280
    • View Profile
Re: Porblem with MK0 in flashcart
« Reply #4 on: June 22, 2020, 04:57:51 am »
You are the one asking for help so it is your job to tell us what you are using, can also help to note what system it is for as a lot of things in ROM hacking are reasonably system specific, especially when it comes to debugging these sorts of issues. This is to say what patch and preferably where you got it (going by previous posts of yours here it could have been from some random forum post or maybe even a premade ROM). You would also do well to note what you are trying to run it on -- some fly by night R4 named thing on the DS vs say one the nice flash carts from a well known maker, or one of those weird SD launchers for the DSi/3ds. Equally do you have cheats running?
Basically make the life of the person that would be helping you as easy as possible short of sharing the ROM.

Anyway what does no$gba debug say when you try to run it? http://problemkaputt.de/gba.htm if it starts spitting errors about bad instructions, BIOS/SWI calls or similar then that is one thing.
GBA and DS ROMs not working on hardware for a thing ROM hackers will fix is something of a rarity (there are no inaccurate emulator only tricks like we saw for the SNES, no HD texture replacement in emulator like we commonly see on the N64 and gamecube) and most emulators are good about a lot of things here. There are still some things though (say compression not being compatible with the graphics side of things, easy to do for new hackers) and there could be some weird timing issue.
99% of the time though it is someone patched the wrong ROM, their flash cart/running method is bad, they left cheats on and it messed something up with the hack or some combo of the lot.

Uhh...I have no idea how to use no&gba debugger.   I am using R4 Gold Pro 2020.   And it already have cheat code in list so there is no edit the code in R4 flash cart.   Therefore, I have no clue how to fix it.   I am using on my ds lite.   There is no readme when I download it.   Only it have xdelta patch.   So I dont know why the owner of MK0 hacker didnt do anything to mention.
Are you huge fan of Megaman Xtreme 2?   Then check this progress of Remastered version!

FAST6191

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3052
    • View Profile
Re: Porblem with MK0 in flashcart
« Reply #5 on: June 22, 2020, 07:51:58 am »
You don't have to know how to use it. Just run it and it will usually tell you about any errors and fairly quickly at that.

So a piece of junk R4 named thing... fantastic.  Do you have a url on the cart label as so many of them are named similarly and I don't want to get the wrong one? If it is running Wood or even a lightly hacked version of it that is one thing, however if it is one of the nasty custom things that is a different matter.

On cheat codes do you have the option to disable it when you run it just to eliminate any issues? Most Mario Kart cheats I see should not trouble a level and graphics tweak but we do still want to check these things. Mind you looking at what I presume is one of the author's channels ( https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCmdTDSLD1fdLP4AZ3ErzSWg ) they do some fairly extensive assembly stuff so maybe.

Also just to check you downloaded is http://www.romhacking.net/hacks/3095/ and not one from somewhere else on the internet (there look to be several versions out there, and who knows what some prepatched ROM on some random website).

bradzx

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 280
    • View Profile
Re: Porblem with MK0 in flashcart
« Reply #6 on: June 22, 2020, 11:42:33 am »
You don't have to know how to use it. Just run it and it will usually tell you about any errors and fairly quickly at that.

So a piece of junk R4 named thing... fantastic.  Do you have a url on the cart label as so many of them are named similarly and I don't want to get the wrong one? If it is running Wood or even a lightly hacked version of it that is one thing, however if it is one of the nasty custom things that is a different matter.

On cheat codes do you have the option to disable it when you run it just to eliminate any issues? Most Mario Kart cheats I see should not trouble a level and graphics tweak but we do still want to check these things. Mind you looking at what I presume is one of the author's channels ( https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCmdTDSLD1fdLP4AZ3ErzSWg ) they do some fairly extensive assembly stuff so maybe.

Also just to check you downloaded is http://www.romhacking.net/hacks/3095/ and not one from somewhere else on the internet (there look to be several versions out there, and who knows what some prepatched ROM on some random website).

It have own website and no, it is not wood.   That is so old. It www.r4isdhc.com.   

I did go that site to download the patch.   

I load it up and it work fine on no$gba debugger.
Are you huge fan of Megaman Xtreme 2?   Then check this progress of Remastered version!