News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Something wrong with searching Cavespeak?  (Read 764 times)

Reefytheslim

• View Profile
Something wrong with searching Cavespeak?
« on: May 08, 2020, 01:46:32 pm »
hi guys
Sorry for my question if it seems noobish, im still learning. i'm trying to translate a Jap Snes game called (Mini Yonku Let's & Go!! - Power WGP 2) and i've read many tutorials and did some practice on different games and everything was successful.
im using the Cavespeak relative search approach when i replace the jap font with english font (A-Z all caps) then using windhex to search for the cavespeak and building the table accordingly.
So when i tried to work on this game (Mini Yonku Let's & Go!! - Power WGP 2) I replaced the japanese font with english capital alphabet (which are already present in the rom) and i got the cavespeak result. but when i try to relative search for it using windhex i get either no results or results that are incorrect, I can't even search for more then 3-4 characters too. i used all Caps english font and no numbers.
what could be wrong?
here is the font in tile molester and the cavespeak:

this goes for many cavespeak sentences in the game, same result.
https://imgur.com/BhnrPZf
(hight resolution image)

Is there something missing? i really need some guidance here :-[
« Last Edit: May 08, 2020, 01:54:10 pm by Reefytheslim »

FAST6191

• View Profile
Re: Something wrong with searching Cavespeak?
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2020, 01:43:18 pm »
Does your relative search do 16 bit encoding searches? Or possibly can you insert a wildcard between the values to mimic it? I don't tend to use windhex for relative search so don't know its limitations and general workflow here. Monkey moore is my chosen toy for this sort of thing https://www.romhacking.net/utilities/513/