News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: JP>EN translator with 0 technical knowledge  (Read 901 times)

luxperpetua

• View Profile
JP>EN translator with 0 technical knowledge
« on: May 04, 2020, 09:14:37 pm »
Hello everyone! I've been doing miscellaneous JP>EN fan translations since 2013, and I've been itching to take on a bigger project lately.

I noticed in the Help Wanted board that the rules specify a project must be in progress and have a certain amount of work done before advertising for help; unfortunately, since I'm just a translator and not a romhacker, I'm not able to extract scripts, which prevents me from making any progress on my own.

Would it be acceptable to post in the Help Wanted board to find someone with technical skills to start a project with? Or is there another place where that would be acceptable?

FAST6191

• View Profile
Re: JP>EN translator with 0 technical knowledge
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2020, 12:46:46 pm »
There are some tools to help translate games, though most of those usually get made off the back of English translations.

More translators are always welcome, I guess you can post on the board (the rule is mostly there to stop "hack this for me" requests and might as well be that requests) or maintain a list of games you found interesting if someone wants to hack them - when people are making a request for a ROM translation then they often.