News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Monster Rancher 4 Seasonal Shrines - Feasible?  (Read 1370 times)

kingkj52

• View Profile
Monster Rancher 4 Seasonal Shrines - Feasible?
« on: April 30, 2020, 08:53:13 am »
Hey, new to the community. I've been messing with the Seasonal Shrines for MR2 for a while, and thought it'd be great to bring a system like this over to the newest mainline series title, seeing as disc swapping for it can still be problematic (and we'll never get the new.. remaster? of MR1 that's out on the Switch in Japan right now).

For my background, I have a Bachelors in Computer Engineering and have taken a few courses in assembly, and I have used HxD in the past for some hobby projects, so the base concepts are at least not completely foreign to me.

I suppose my question would be, to all of you that are significantly more knowledgeable than me, how feasible is the task?
If its practical or doable, any advice on getting started?

I've grabbed ps2dis, and also saw the one merged with pcsx2, so I grabbed that as well. HxD is raring to go, and I've extracted the iso already. I'm not particularly accustomed to irx or pss files, but I assume there is a method to their madness.

I thought about digging into the seasonal shrines patch for mr2 and seeing how it was done there, and then hope that sheds some light on the general process.

Currently, the hard part is actually finding where in all the files is the section dealing with reading from a disc and generating a monster. As a second (or third?) question at this point, any tips on nailing down the specifics?

Thanks for all the help, and if this task seems to be too much for me, I am debating putting up a small bounty (eg. $$$) to get it done, seeing as its practically impossible to effectively play these nowadays.

Jorpho

• The cat screams with the voice of a man.
    • View Profile