News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Level editing in Ducktales(NES)?  (Read 1820 times)

imute

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Level editing in Ducktales(NES)?
« on: February 22, 2020, 08:58:40 am »
Hello, I hope I chose the right section for this question...

Does somebody here know, how to edit levels in Ducktales(NES) using the Hexeditor integrated in FCEUX?
At which line do the levels start? Or are there already specialised tools for that? Or in genereal better ways to do so?

4lorn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 134
    • View Profile
Re: Level editing in Ducktales(NES)?
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2020, 10:16:42 am »
If you search the for Duck Tales in the Utilities section, you'll find CadEditor which is an editor for a large amount of games, including Duck Tales 1 and 2. There is also a Duck Tales disassembly in the Documents section.

Jorpho

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4260
  • The cat screams with the voice of a man.
    • View Profile
Re: Level editing in Ducktales(NES)?
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2020, 12:24:25 pm »
how to edit levels in Ducktales(NES) using the Hexeditor integrated in FCEUX?
I suppose it's technically possible to edit levels with a hex editor, but I have no idea why you would do that.  How would you expect that to work?
This signature is an illusion and is a trap devised by Satan. Go ahead dauntlessly! Make rapid progres!

J^P

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
Re: Level editing in Ducktales(NES)?
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2020, 05:02:32 pm »
I suppose it's technically possible to edit levels with a hex editor, but I have no idea why you would do that.  How would you expect that to work?
what makes you think it doesn't work?, FCEUX's hex editor is quite handy and has some neat features, like the code date logger highlights what parts are data and what is code, that way I figured out Solstice's level data. Plus it allows to edit game real-time(usefulness depends on how the game loads the data, in my case Solstice reloads everything when I exit and re-enter room), undo edits(even if the game crashes I can re-load save state or reset game and I dont lose any changes, and I can undo changes too and everything goes back to normal), show tbl/table files, and save the rom file so at least for me it was really, really handy and useful. my only complain is that there is no option to make font larger or change the highlight colors.

Jorpho

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4260
  • The cat screams with the voice of a man.
    • View Profile
Re: Level editing in Ducktales(NES)?
« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2020, 08:03:37 pm »
what makes you think it doesn't work?
I definitely expect it would work, but it would be slow and awkward at best, surely?  Wouldn't you have to manually set the coordinates one-by-one of every tile and object you wanted to place?
This signature is an illusion and is a trap devised by Satan. Go ahead dauntlessly! Make rapid progres!

sics

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 258
  • Contact me!
    • View Profile
    • Deviantart: Terwilf
Re: Level editing in Ducktales(NES)?
« Reply #5 on: February 22, 2020, 09:48:12 pm »
It is actually very practical when there is no other alternative, I used DjinnMapper.1.5 :thumbsup:





I wish someone would program more tools of this style :D

J^P

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
Re: Level editing in Ducktales(NES)?
« Reply #6 on: February 24, 2020, 03:16:13 pm »
I definitely expect it would work, but it would be slow and awkward at best, surely?  Wouldn't you have to manually set the coordinates one-by-one of every tile and object you wanted to place?
well yeah but last I checked level editors aren't gonna program themselves ::) and besides at least for solstice its just five bytes per sprite(sprite id/XY pos/Z pos/palette1/palette2) and four bytes per block(graphics id/XY pos/z pos/block behavior) or 16bytes per block(same as other but each 8x8 tiles(three rows, four tiles per row) are inputted/set manually.. god bless isometric graphics :angel:).