News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: New hacker needs help with pointers in Dragon Warrior Monsters (GBC)  (Read 1516 times)

nejimakipiyo

• View Profile
    • Demon Passion
Hello everyone! I'm pretty new to the hacking community. Worked on translations before with my friend Chicken Knife doing all of the actual hacking... but now I've decided to try a little project of my own and I'm already stumped.

Game: Dragon Warrior Monsters, for GBC

About the project: I'm looking to improve some areas where ideas were lost in translation. Jokes in the monster arena, a puzzling sign in the gate of Bewilder, puff puff censorship, etc.

What I've done so far: ...not really a whole lot, to be honest. I can so far open up the ROM and its table file in a Hex Editor (I'm using WindHex) and look at some of the code. Using various online resources and help from Chicken Knife, I was able to look at the header bytes to determine that the cartridge type for Dragon Warrior Monsters is MBC5+RAM+BATTERY, which apparently means it uses 3-byte pointers (and that explains why I wasn't able to find any 2-byte pointers!)

So, I started trying to work out the rom addresses for the pointers I need. Let's take the beginning of the monster list as an example. The offset for the beginning of the monster list, starting at "DrakSlime", is 105B1F. From that I worked out (using the hex mode of Windows Calculator + information on Data Crystal + help from a friend who speaks math) that my pointer should be 411F5B.

What I need help with: 411F5B comes up with exactly 0 search strings when I search it in WindHex. I understand that the 41 may not be attached to every pointer, but I wasn't able to find the pointers by searching for 1F5B either. I'm completely stumped at how I should progress with this, so some direction and tips would be helpful if anyone has the time to do so!