News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Question about difficulty level  (Read 709 times)

satb

• View Profile
Question about difficulty level
« on: January 04, 2020, 04:18:11 pm »
Hey guys. I have no experience rom hacking so I wanted to ask for a general idea of how difficult this project might be before I attempt it. I know rom hacking takes patience and time and if this is a really difficult project I don't know if it's good for me to start here.

So I want to take the Lion King SNES rom and change the order of the levels. There is an easter egg in the game that lets you play with an upside-down sprite, but it is bugged on a few of the levels and I'd like to create a rom where you can "complete" the game upside-down.

I think this would somehow involve changing level ending code to tell the SNES to jump to a different point in the ROM? So I'm guessing some disassembly and pointers would be involved. Unfortunately, this is not a frequently hacked game and I don't think anyone has done any mapping of the ROM and I don't really know how to do any of this yet.

Anyone out there with some SNES experience who can help me decide whether to jump into it or run far away?  :P

FAST6191

• View Profile
Re: Question about difficulty level
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2020, 11:04:10 pm »
Assembly might well be involved but there are two other things to look at
1) See if there is some kind of doorway/teleporter type arrangement at the end of a level. This tends to be more for open world maps but some platformer type things do it too.