News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules

Author Topic: NES RoboCop with Arcade sprites  (Read 73798 times)

Cyneprepou4uk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 734
  • I am the baldest romhacker
    • View Profile
Re: NES RoboCop with Arcade sprites
« Reply #140 on: June 18, 2021, 12:50:52 pm »
Debugger tells that the game is trying to store F0 from register A into 0224 via STA instruction. 86 you see here will be overwritten once this instruction is executed.

0200-02FF range is for sprite attributes. This particular subroutine hides all sprites. Press Run button and wait for another breakpoint hit.

You'd better tackle an address with object's Y axis instead.

SomeOldGuy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 115
  • Game Changer
    • View Profile
Re: NES RoboCop with Arcade sprites
« Reply #141 on: June 18, 2021, 02:33:05 pm »
Cyneprepou4uk, I think I need to setup a condition for the break point to break only when 86 is loaded into 0224.  I know where to setup the break point but not how to write the condition.  Will you help me out?  ;D 
Good times create weak men, weak men create hard times.  Hard times create strong men, strong men create good times...

Cyneprepou4uk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 734
  • I am the baldest romhacker
    • View Profile
Re: NES RoboCop with Arcade sprites
« Reply #142 on: June 18, 2021, 02:37:17 pm »
W==#86

It means break when 86 is Written via any register.

Official 2.2.3 FCEUX version may not support this. Either update it to 2.3.0, or replace W with A (or other register).
« Last Edit: June 18, 2021, 04:10:31 pm by Cyneprepou4uk »

SomeOldGuy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 115
  • Game Changer
    • View Profile
Re: NES RoboCop with Arcade sprites
« Reply #143 on: June 18, 2021, 04:50:04 pm »
Cyneprepou4uk, Thank you!  :thumbsup:

I was finally able to track down the values I was looking for.

Good times create weak men, weak men create hard times.  Hard times create strong men, strong men create good times...

SomeOldGuy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 115
  • Game Changer
    • View Profile
Re: NES RoboCop with Arcade sprites
« Reply #144 on: June 25, 2021, 08:02:27 pm »
Hey everybody!

Happy Firday  ;D

Check out the new patch below.

https://www.mediafire.com/file/s1ts2xquihv33xb/RoboCop_-_Edit_17.ips/file

Changes in this one are:

Updated bonus stage graphics

Polished ED-209's graphics a bit

Fixed the muzzle flash animation during cut scenes

All of the bullets/projectiles have their own unique sprites now 

Fixed the height of Robocop's bullets when firing while crouching

Removed the floating Coke can in the first level

End scene graphics

And a bunch of other graphics updates

Good times create weak men, weak men create hard times.  Hard times create strong men, strong men create good times...

Flaviogames

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
    • View Profile
Re: NES RoboCop with Arcade sprites
« Reply #145 on: June 26, 2021, 12:41:09 pm »
will the control function be totally the same as the original? 2 punch buttons if, jump? either I couldn't add jump or maybe one button is punch and the other uses the weapon

CryinOnion

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
  • "Once upon a time, a terribly sad onion ..."
    • View Profile
    • Crying Onion's Youtube Channel
Re: NES RoboCop with Arcade sprites
« Reply #146 on: June 26, 2021, 05:10:02 pm »
This project is looking better and better every day, Bro! The title screen and intro just blows your mind, it's like "I can't believe this is possible". The work on the more polished levels is amazing, just like the sprites. And yeaaaaah! You have removed the time limit. For that alone we should worship you as a God.


And now, some suggestions and constructive criticism:

·I think the animation frames when we see Robocop in the cutscenes wielding the gun and shooting don't quite work. Maybe it's the frequency, maybe it lacks a flashing effect to make it more convincing. It's really a personal opinion, it's your "baby" so if you like it that way I like it too.

·Sorry, but I can't watch the animation frames of Robocop's mouth without laughing.To put it delicately, "those lips don't look like they were made to pray to God" XD. I'm sure you can do something about that.

·Another thing that is quite comical is the animation when Robocop walks through a door. From what I remember, that was already happening in the original game's animation. It just looks weird and forced, even considering it's the same sprite mirrored to create the illusion that it's moving.

·On the third level, one of Robocop's greatest enemies emerges: the stairs. And really, as they are designed, they are a bit confusing, especially when going down them. Is it as if they were in perspective? Or is it a railing that supose be in front of Robocop? Anyway, it stands to reason that after persisting you'll find the right spot where to go down them, but you can certainly do something about it.

·This last (the rest of the things I've noticed are to be expected in a version still in development) is a personal suggestion: I don't dislike the Bad Dudes cameo in the 1st stage, but I think it would be terrific to replace it with a T-800. What do you think?


I can't wait to play the final version of this project. There really are few things more disappointing to a kid than putting together two things he loves like a cool movie and his favorite console and having the result be.... well, the original game. With this hack you're going to make a lot of " grown up kids" really happy.

Flaviogames

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
    • View Profile
Re: NES RoboCop with Arcade sprites
« Reply #147 on: June 26, 2021, 06:28:31 pm »
I've never played the original version so what I'm going to talk about here is more as a suggestion to fix it if possible, first congratulations on the work, now I'm going to talk about what I think is strange about the game, first punch A and B buttons and don't jump, it will be does the game really need to jump? in one part of the game i was able to use the gun, it shouldn't work from the beginning, right? when we are walking and we stop the robocop stays still in the last animation either with the foot high or low, there should be a fixed can for it when it stops, I came to a part that had a ladder and I was in doubt whether it was to go up because I I tried and it didn't go up until I managed to go up, but it's very difficult to start the climb, another thing when walking I think it would be interesting to move my arms, thanks for your attention :thumbsup:

SomeOldGuy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 115
  • Game Changer
    • View Profile
Re: NES RoboCop with Arcade sprites
« Reply #148 on: June 30, 2021, 10:39:23 pm »
Hey Flaviogames and CryinOnion!

Thank you both for your critiques. ;D

Quote
will the control function be totally the same as the original? 2 punch buttons if, jump? either I couldn't add jump or maybe one button is punch and the other uses the weapon

Flaviogames, Unless someone with some programming skills wants to help me, then yes, the controls will stay the same.

Quote
·I think the animation frames when we see Robocop in the cutscenes wielding the gun and shooting don't quite work. Maybe it's the frequency, maybe it lacks a flashing effect to make it more convincing. It's really a personal opinion, it's your "baby" so if you like it that way I like it too.

CryinOnion, If I understand you correctly, the flames from the gun barrel appear to flash too quickly.  The only way I know to fix this is if you open the hex editor in fceux and go to 0x18CE5 in the Rom, you can change the values from  5E AD  A4 AB  5E AD  A4 AB  to  5E AD  5E AD  A4 AB  A4 AB.  This will make it appear to flash slower.



Quote
·Sorry, but I can't watch the animation frames of Robocop's mouth without laughing.To put it delicately, "those lips don't look like they were made to pray to God" XD. I'm sure you can do something about that.

 :laugh:... this is also an easy fix.  You can open the patched rom in YYCHR and copy and past the closed mouth graphics over the open mouth.



Quote
·Another thing that is quite comical is the animation when Robocop walks through a door. From what I remember, that was already happening in the original game's animation. It just looks weird and forced, even considering it's the same sprite mirrored to create the illusion that it's moving.

You don't like the dancing animation?  Lol... I'm planning to change it before the final release.

Quote
·On the third level, one of Robocop's greatest enemies emerges: the stairs. And really, as they are designed, they are a bit confusing, especially when going down them. Is it as if they were in perspective? Or is it a railing that supose be in front of Robocop? Anyway, it stands to reason that after persisting you'll find the right spot where to go down them, but you can certainly do something about it.

Ah yes, the dreaded stairs.  I'm trying to be as faithful to the arcade game's graphics as I can, but in this case may need to deviate.  It is supposed to look like railing but unless I can make Robocop appear to walk behind it, it really doesn't make sense.  I know that background tiles can be drawn in front of sprites (Super Mario 3) so pulling this off might be possible. 



Quote
·This last (the rest of the things I've noticed are to be expected in a version still in development) is a personal suggestion: I don't dislike the Bad Dudes cameo in the 1st stage, but I think it would be terrific to replace it with a T-800. What do you think?

It's funny that you mention this because I've wanted to incorporate the T-800 since I started this mod.  ;D

Again, thank you CryinOnion for the feedback and advice.  I hope you enjoy the final version.. how ever it turns out.

Quote
I've never played the original version so what I'm going to talk about here is more as a suggestion to fix it if possible, first congratulations on the work, now I'm going to talk about what I think is strange about the game, first punch A and B buttons and don't jump, it will be does the game really need to jump? in one part of the game i was able to use the gun, it shouldn't work from the beginning, right? when we are walking and we stop the robocop stays still in the last animation either with the foot high or low, there should be a fixed can for it when it stops, I came to a part that had a ladder and I was in doubt whether it was to go up because I I tried and it didn't go up until I managed to go up, but it's very difficult to start the climb, another thing when walking I think it would be interesting to move my arms, thanks for your attention

Flavio, you must play the original version to appreciate how terrible it was... go on, I'll wait.  OK, now that you understand...  Lol yes, I agree, Robocop should be able to jump.  I don't know why they didn't include this feature.  They gave us the ability to block instead of jump?  It doesn't make sense.  As for the gun, this I can understand, since in the arcade game you can't always use the gun, you just have to punch the enemies to death.  As stated previously, the stairs are notorious in this game.  Going up or down the stairs is like trying to perform a special move in Street Fighter 1, damn near impossible.  I'm probably not going to change the walking animation to have Robocop swing his arms since he doesn't do this in the arcade game but I may make him bob up and down like the turtles do in TMNT for the NES.  ;D
Good times create weak men, weak men create hard times.  Hard times create strong men, strong men create good times...

Flaviogames

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
    • View Profile
Re: NES RoboCop with Arcade sprites
« Reply #149 on: July 01, 2021, 06:21:19 am »
SomeOldGuy: great, robocop swinging up and down is fine, but when he's on his way out, can he put his feet up? a lot of times the foot is raised and this is very strange :thumbsup:

July 03, 2021, 03:23:41 pm - (Auto Merged - Double Posts are not allowed before 7 days.)
I was watching a video of the arcade version I was wondering if it would be possible to add some voices in the nes version, which mapping are you using?
« Last Edit: July 03, 2021, 03:23:41 pm by Flaviogames »

SomeOldGuy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 115
  • Game Changer
    • View Profile
Re: NES RoboCop with Arcade sprites
« Reply #150 on: July 05, 2021, 03:03:56 pm »
Quote
when he's on his way out, can he put his feet up? a lot of times the foot is raised and this is very strange

Flavio, I'm not sure what you are trying to tell me.  Can you post a picture?

Quote
I was wondering if it would be possible to add some voices in the nes version, which mapping are you using?

Yes, it's possible to add voices and music, I don't know how to do this though.  The mapper RoboCop uses is MMC3, I used Nflate by KingMike to increase the size of the ROM to give me more space to work. ;D     

[/font]
Good times create weak men, weak men create hard times.  Hard times create strong men, strong men create good times...

Flaviogames

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
    • View Profile
Re: NES RoboCop with Arcade sprites
« Reply #151 on: July 05, 2021, 09:14:46 pm »
the part that you didn't understand I'll try to explain, normally a character has the animation to walk and when he stands still he has an animation moving in some way as you said it can make the shoulders move up and down that gives a feeling of breathing, but the biggest problem is the legs and feet, when he is taking a step and we stop walking, he gets stuck with the step movement, the correct thing is for him to keep his feet firmly on the shaft, I hope he has understood now, thanks for your attention

edwinmusic

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: NES RoboCop with Arcade sprites
« Reply #152 on: July 10, 2021, 01:10:04 pm »
WOOF ! I congratulate you someoldguy youre amazing!!  :woot!:  I have always been following your work from the beginning! It is more and more professional, the improvements of this last demo are great, the drug factory has been very professional, great, the weapon in the intro too, the polishing of Robocop !! etc. On the other hand, I could give you a more ambitious suggestion and it is with respect to the boss of the first level, it would be good to create a background according to the movie, maybe if you designed the supermarket, the enemy with a big jacket just like in the movie, etc. .   ;) :)

SomeOldGuy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 115
  • Game Changer
    • View Profile
Re: NES RoboCop with Arcade sprites
« Reply #153 on: August 01, 2021, 05:37:45 pm »
Hey everybody!

New patch below.

https://www.mediafire.com/file/6na4g3v9m7s9w8z/RoboCop_-_Edit_18.ips/file

Changes in this one:

     Gave the RoboCop sprite a flesh colored face

     Added 2 cut scenes

     Added more detail to the previously added cut scenes

     End scene graphics

     And some other minor graphic updates

lemme know what you think!   ;D


Hey edwinmusic, thanks for the kind words.  That'd be pretty cool if I could add the supermarket but don't have any extra tiles for level 1.


Good times create weak men, weak men create hard times.  Hard times create strong men, strong men create good times...

Flaviogames

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
    • View Profile
Re: NES RoboCop with Arcade sprites
« Reply #154 on: August 02, 2021, 08:28:25 pm »
will there be any improvement in gameplay? will be added jump? will the animation have a fixed pose when the robocop is stopped? he sometimes gets the animation when he is walking with his foot raised even when standing still

SomeOldGuy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 115
  • Game Changer
    • View Profile
Re: NES RoboCop with Arcade sprites
« Reply #155 on: August 03, 2021, 08:23:36 pm »
Well, as far as game play, I can change the location of where some of the enemies spawn. I could also increase or decrease the number of enemies that spawn in a level, but that's about all I can do with the limited skill I currently have.  Not sure if you would consider this an improvement or not.  It would be really cool to add a jump feature.  This is something that I've wanted to do for a long time, but I don't know how to do it.  The raised foot is also something I have no idea of how to fix.  May just have to post a help wanted ad and see if I can get some assistance.   ;D       
Good times create weak men, weak men create hard times.  Hard times create strong men, strong men create good times...

Flaviogames

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
    • View Profile
Re: NES RoboCop with Arcade sprites
« Reply #156 on: August 04, 2021, 07:46:13 am »
SomeOldGuy: I see, maybe someone can help with this, good luck :thumbsup:

SomeOldGuy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 115
  • Game Changer
    • View Profile
Re: NES RoboCop with Arcade sprites
« Reply #157 on: September 10, 2021, 09:26:22 pm »
Hey Everybody!  ;D

I've been working on simplifying the HUD recently. 

This is what it looks like now:


This is what I want it to look like:


Is splitting the HUD like this possible?


Good times create weak men, weak men create hard times.  Hard times create strong men, strong men create good times...

Cyneprepou4uk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 734
  • I am the baldest romhacker
    • View Profile
Re: NES RoboCop with Arcade sprites
« Reply #158 on: September 11, 2021, 02:48:04 am »
It's possible.

CaptainHIT

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: NES RoboCop with Arcade sprites
« Reply #159 on: September 11, 2021, 03:28:30 am »
I'm eagerly waiting for this project. Thanks for all your efforts!!!  :thumbsup: