News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: [Graphics/Technical] [MD/GEN] Universal Soldier hacking into Turrican II  (Read 233 times)

Wesker

• View Profile
Hello.

I have always been a little annoyed about what was going to be the Mega Drive/Genesis conversion of Turrican II: The Final Fight and what became of it, cheaply turned into a Universal Soldier movie tie-in because someone at Accolade thought the game would sell better that way.

Some time ago, puzzled by the fact that nobody has ever bothered to hack this game in order to turn it back into Turrican II, I decided to give it a try myself. I'm no hacking expert, but with some helpful tips by fellow member fusaru, I managed to hack the main sprite palette and restore all the Bren Mc Guire sprites from the Amiga version. It took me a while due to the great deal of animation frames it has, especially all the rotatory ones of the lightning whip attack. I also hacked/modified the HUD to make it more Turrican-esque, even thought I wasn't able to bring the Amiga original one in that case due to being completely different. Here you can see the result.

Yeah, looks like Turrican II: The Final Fight now. But unfortunately it's not complete. The game has a great deal of compressed graphics. In fact, pretty much everything is compressed except the Bren Mc Guire sprites and most scenery. It was thanks to this how I was also able to revert some of the cosmetic changes done in the Alien hive level. Most notably, the Alien heads in walls in platforms.