Searching for Boktai sunrise/sunset timing data

Started by Euclide, March 30, 2019, 09:05:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Euclide

It's a long shot, but I'm hoping to get some advice on finding the data that defines sunrise/sunset timing in Boktai. For those unaware, the game includes a list of regions (which varies by version), and the selected one affects the in-game daily sunrise and sunset times (using a real-time clock) to match the real world. My goal is to edit the aforementioned list and sunrise/sunset curves/times to match.

I am a relative beginner, in that I know the basics of memory filtering to find interesting addresses, bases, assembly etc., but I may not be aware and taking advantage of all the tools available. I did read the documents I found on general romhacking and some GBA-specific tips.

My first instinct was to set a breakpoint (with No$GBA) at the point in the in-game menu that displays the sunset time. The player can toggle current/sunrise/sunset time and a memory value changes along with that, which allowed me to set a conditional breakpoint.

Next I tried to run single lines/operations looking for a predictable value in registers. Knowing the hour, minute, total time in number of minutes, and total time in number of seconds, I looked for these or similar values, but the menu draw loop (that takes care of displaying the correct time) went by and I was not able to find an appropriate value that would come out any differently when modified. I tried to follow the assembly line by line as well, but it is very long and tedious to figure out the purpose of each statement, and without knowing how the time is computed/retrieved/displayed it is difficult to narrow down the search space in the program.