News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules

Author Topic: Just getting started on translation: tbl files and text anomalies?  (Read 1923 times)

neobium

• View Profile
I'm just getting started on fiddling with translation, and I'd like to see if I can do simple customizations to learn how it works. Of the IPS files I have tried (for games I actually have), only one had readable text in it, but it had a strange anomaly where o was rendered as x, and y's are missing.... Can anyone tell me why? Examples:

It has been half a centur
mxved tx a space cxlxn
left xn their jxurne

This is from this translation: https://www.romhacking.net/translations/3470/
Using this editor on OSX: https://ridiculousfish.com/hexfiend/

Also - I watched a video in which it was explained that it would be necessary to create a table file for translations that don't show any readable text. Googling indicated most hex editors should work with table (.tbl) files. But the above one does not appear to? Anyone know a solution I could use?

FAST6191

• View Profile
Re: Just getting started on translation: tbl files and text anomalies?
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2019, 05:37:45 pm »
First it should be noted IPS is a list of differences.

[facepalm worthy line]
Oh man

The .... part might well remain the same between games.

Anyway two bets.

1) Compression
2) It is not actually normal text as per the decode window of whatever hex editor you are using -- the whole point of table files is that games don't have to use the ASCII or whatever common format there is, and have been repeatedly observed to do their own thing for so long that it became a fundamental aspect of ROM hacking.
As it does not know what it is then such programs tend to render out the unknown character as a space/blank, a dot or something similar.

"Googling indicated most hex editors should work with table (.tbl) files."