News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Translating scripts: where to stop  (Read 1076 times)

POWCo-op

• View Profile
Translating scripts: where to stop
« on: December 05, 2018, 03:49:38 am »
This is just a thought for people who translate scripts. As a language student, I know that changing the names of items, gear, and so on will confuse people who consult a guide for that sort of thing. It's kind of hellish when you play an RPG and the names of consumables and equips have been modified. Think of the Final Fantasy Tactics games. Playstation did the right thing and decided to retranslate the script... but they also went too far and renamed all the abilities, and some of them had no obvious connection to the original.  :huh:  Unless I've played the game enough for it to be a favorite, I won't get all those names down. So, I'd like to say that I love retranslated scripts, but not retranslated menus.
Now you're playing in... three dimensions.

Tom

• View Profile
Re: Translating scripts: where to stop
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2018, 04:36:48 am »
When you receive a script, you're not necessarily going to be given all of the previous translations. Plus, it doesn't seem right to just copy over someone else's prior translation, since that's someone else's work... And would the original translator receive compensation or be credited? Would they ask why their original translation isn't being used in the new version? It might be messy...

My feeling is that if you want the original translation, play the original translation. If you want elements of both, well, that's what romhacking is for. :)

FAST6191

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2018, 08:40:26 am »
I was expecting the usual literal, liberal, pizza cats debate. While not answered, and never likely to be, I will say it is somewhat played out. This however still has something to it.