News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: DTE Table Expansion in FF1 NES  (Read 1631 times)

Orochi Kusanagi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
DTE Table Expansion in FF1 NES
« on: November 13, 2018, 01:26:18 am »
I feel like I'm missing something really obvious here, and it is driving me crazy. I can't get this working at all. I applied the changes mentioned in this post https://gamefaqs.gamespot.com/boards/522595-final-fantasy/45575058/499636109 (and the PRNG patch which I was told was needed), and then proceeded to update the tables.

Spoiler:

And here is a snippet of what my new table looks like:

Spoiler:

And this is what it looks like in game:

Spoiler:

an is a normal DTE character, and I had added di to one of the new slots. Neither of them show up in game now (it's supposed to read Bandido), and most stuff is just junky looking.

Does anyone know what it is that I am doing wrong?


abw

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 170
    • View Profile
Re: DTE Table Expansion in FF1 NES
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2018, 09:00:14 am »
Off the top of my head, this could be due to the original game's code for displaying monster names not handling DTE codes the way you would want it to. Assuming that is the correct diagnosis, you might be interested in using Lenophis' Battle DTE fixer upper patch to treat the symptoms ;).

Disch

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2618
  • NES Junkie
    • View Profile
Re: DTE Table Expansion in FF1 NES
« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2018, 11:52:14 am »
+1 to abw's response.  :thumbsup:

Out of the box, the US version of FF1 does not use DTE when in battles, so using DTE characters won't work.  The hack on the gamefaqs link does not address this, it merely increases the number of DTE entries you can have.

I don't see any reason why the linked patch wouldn't fix the issue.

Orochi Kusanagi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
Re: DTE Table Expansion in FF1 NES
« Reply #3 on: November 13, 2018, 12:51:08 pm »
I already have that patch and have found it super useful. I found myself needing more combinations though, which is why I sought the expansion, but unfortunately as I have shown I can't seem to get it to work.

I know it must be something simple I'm overlooking, but I have done it over and over and can't seem to get it to work.

Disch

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2618
  • NES Junkie
    • View Profile
Re: DTE Table Expansion in FF1 NES
« Reply #4 on: November 13, 2018, 02:15:38 pm »
Can you post your ROM?  I might be able to take a look at it today.

Orochi Kusanagi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
Re: DTE Table Expansion in FF1 NES
« Reply #5 on: November 13, 2018, 04:08:58 pm »
Thanks, here are three patches. The one with the table+prng doesn't work either, but I put the separate patches too along with the combined one. The combined IPS has the new text edit patch, PRNG+Table+DTE Battle, extended strings patch with some menu edits from Grond. I didn;t include the graphical stuff since it's unimportant for this issue.

With all of the hacks below I currently have installed:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1K-xs9mudO-jt2QFoUD5maxZMT2_w1DFk

Just the table+prng+dte battle
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1Qtos5GZRqaGPlB3yUBtUQkX5gjEKKGQ_

Text edits so far
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1KkqlAZ2PRSU4q0qwlpKTYl_5DoyY8AZq


Disch

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2618
  • NES Junkie
    • View Profile
Re: DTE Table Expansion in FF1 NES
« Reply #6 on: November 13, 2018, 09:55:42 pm »
Okay... Grond's (gamefaqs) hack is changing the out-of-battle text drawing routine, but not the battle text routine (because it originally didn't use DTE)

And Lenophis' hack is changing the battle text routine, but is unaware of the changes to the DTE table that Grond made.

So Lenophis' hack needs some tweaks.  Apply this on top of your current hack:

$3FAC5:  $1A -> $0A
$3FAC9:  $A0 -> $C0

The first byte tells it the DTE table starts sooner, and the second byte tells it it ends later.


PS:  Sorry for the late reply.  Had to run some errands after work so I couldn't get to this as soon as I would have liked.

Orochi Kusanagi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
Re: DTE Table Expansion in FF1 NES
« Reply #7 on: November 13, 2018, 11:01:30 pm »
THANK YOU!

That did the trick 100%! Went from 3 KAB for enemy names to now 66! I shouldn't be running into any problems now for my remaining monsters. You're awesome, thanks for the help. It was driving me insane, haha. I couldn't figure out what was wrong with it.

Lenophis

  • IRC Staff
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 957
  • The return of the sombrero!
    • View Profile
    • Slick Productions
Re: DTE Table Expansion in FF1 NES
« Reply #8 on: November 14, 2018, 11:17:32 am »
And Lenophis' hack is changing the battle text routine, but is unaware of the changes to the DTE table that Grond made.

So Lenophis' hack needs some tweaks.
How dare my hack not be self-aware! Clearly I need to address this. ;D

Seriously, maybe I should update it...


https://ff6randomizer.codeplex.com/ - Randomize your FF6 experience!

Disch

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2618
  • NES Junkie
    • View Profile
Re: DTE Table Expansion in FF1 NES
« Reply #9 on: November 15, 2018, 09:49:51 am »
Haha.  I didn't mean to dog your hack.  It's great.  I just meant it needs tweaks to be compatible with Grond's hack.

Lenophis

  • IRC Staff
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 957
  • The return of the sombrero!
    • View Profile
    • Slick Productions
Re: DTE Table Expansion in FF1 NES
« Reply #10 on: November 16, 2018, 01:40:07 am »
Nah, you didn't. I just like to poke fun at stuff I do.  :crazy:


https://ff6randomizer.codeplex.com/ - Randomize your FF6 experience!