News:

11 March 2016 - Forum Rules

Main Menu

Final Fantasy VI SNES widescreen patch test

Started by azidahaka, September 23, 2018, 01:27:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

azidahaka

As all others snes games FFVI is a 4:3ish game and as such it's usually played with black bars, or either stretched in widescreen mode.

So i asked myself what could be done to make it more bearable in 16:9 since it's the size all monitors and tvs are nowadays... So i started playing around and checked the results.

These look pretty good in my opinion but i would love top hear more from you all people!

So far only Terra's, the soldiers, the Magitech armours and the townsguards are patched.

Video is here: https://youtu.be/4usxIO7q2FI

Any smart guy will understand the what trick here is, but i guess no-one attempted it so far :D

Naruse

Since we're dealing with 9/16 vs. 3/4 and the ratio between the two is 3/4, it means simply trimming 2 pixels of every 8x8 tile to create a 6x8 version, then offseting every tile of every sprite or tilemap to fit everything together.

It may make more sense to design an emulator specifically for this purpose rather than editing the raw tile data.

For example the native 256 x 224 resolution must be scaled up 7.5 x 4.82 (?) pixels anyway and with nearly 8x horizontal resolution there is a lot of room to play with scaling and interpolation to achieve ideally sharp and accurate results.

The PPU normally positions tiles and sprites on the screen in fixed discrete units (pixels) but there is no real reason relative units (percent) couldn't be used and trivially converted instead.