News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Shadowrun for the Sega Hack  (Read 1512 times)

seraphim423

• View Profile
Shadowrun for the Sega Hack
« on: July 30, 2018, 07:16:24 pm »
Hello, I am relatively new to the ROM hacking scene, but find it a very interesting puzzle. 

I am working on a hack for the Sega Genesis version of Shadowrun. 

Currently, my goals with the hack are to rebalance out the weapons, add additional weapons, increase money and karma payouts for jobs (thus reducing the grind, this game is notorious for it), and bring things in line with Shadowrun 2nd edition rules.

I am still working on my knowledge of assembly but the different versions of GENS have made figuring out the game a lot easier.

Currently, I have completed the following.

1.) I have rebalanced the stats of the starting characters to line up with 2nd edition Shadowrun.

2.) I have redone the weapons to match weapons present in the game and have tried to mix them up a little bit. 

3.) I have fixed a glitch in the game that causes auto death if you are using wired reflexes and melee attacks (thanks to Tony H)

4.) I have changed an extensive amount of dialogue to match the new weapons and to give a different flavor to some of the missions.

I am currently working on how money and karma (exp for this game) are rewarded for completed shadowruns (in-game missions/jobs).  I have made strong headway on the money side, but have some random effects occurring I have to work out. 

I am stuck on altering some aspects of the weapons (reload speed, fire speed, fire mode, and sound) and with creating new items.  But I have received some advice on this. 

For those that are familiar with the character generation process for early editions of Shadowrun, and are curious, my logic is listed below for the changes I made.