News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: A good game to hack after years of SMW?  (Read 1004 times)

Gamma V

• The Female Hacker
    • View Profile
    • SMW Central
A good game to hack after years of SMW?
« on: June 27, 2018, 05:35:48 am »
I've been hacking Super Mario World on and off since 2006.  I'm currently more than halfway through my current project in terms of completed Worlds, and while I have no intention of canceling it, I feel that it may be time that I try hacking other games, either once the SMW hack is finished, or when I'm in need of a side-project.

The main appeal of SMW hacking is that it's extremely easy, and this extends beyond the incredibly user-friendly Lunar Magic, which allows you to edit levels, palettes, graphics, and the Overworld map.  Tools used to do things such as add custom music and ASM-based assets are also very easy to use.

Beyond Super Mario World, I've dabbled a bit in hacking the Genesis Sonic games, specifically Sonic 2, and have managed to complete a hack, even if it can be a bit mediocre.  I've found SonLVL, the latest editor for these games, to be about as close to Lunar Magic in terms of user-friendliness as one can currently get for the Sonic games.  Music hacking was also fairly simple, and I created most of the music in my Sonic 2 hack.  Beyond that, though, there's a bit of a learning curve to other things, most likely because the Sonic scene has adopted split disassemblies as opposed to editing ROMs directly.

Prior to posting this, I tried SMB Utility for a bit, and while it seems pretty straightforward to use, SMB1 doesn't seem as flexible in terms of what can be done to a level.  I have yet to discover how to add or remove objects or if that's even possible.

Here are some games I've thought of:
SMB3: I've kinda been interested in hacking this since playing Super Mario Bros. 3Mix.