News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Mega Man X6 Tweaks (v2.4)  (Read 147867 times)

acediez

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 416
    • View Profile
Re: Mega Man X6 Tweaks (v2.0, now with Retranslation)
« Reply #640 on: October 11, 2019, 11:17:36 pm »
@acediez Oh, so I was trying to apply patch files that didn't do anything anyway? Good to know. Even so, a tutorial of some sort would help me greatly since it's pretty overwhelming to mess with the configurations and not know the proper placement to make those changes take effect.

I just added links in the first post to a couple of tools you can apply the xdelta patches with. These usually check for an exact source file match (at least xdeltaUI does), so you'll know you're getting what you're supposed to get if the tool let's you patch the BIN in the first place. Other than directing you to these tools, and pointing you to the exact release the patches are meant for (USA v1.1 ReDump), I don't know what to tell you. xdeltaUI is pretty straightforward.

You just happened to run into a broken release. Stuff like that happens, these are beta releases for bug testing. If you don't want to deal with things like that, wait until the release in announced on the frontpage of RHDN. Or don't. :cookie:

guys if you want my psx2psp pics for this tweak just ask. I have the even the boot screen. but most of my files are from the Japanese version.

You should just post them just in case  :thumbsup:
I made my own set of PSP images for all three X PS1 games, but they're in a PC I don't have access to at the moment. I'll share them later too.

Quote
I noticed there is no change on the word North Pole Area and NORTHPOLE AREA.
I don't understand. Any good reason?

The menu "NORTHPOLE AREA" should be "NORTH POLE AREA", but they're in sprite assembly, not plain text. That's a time consuming process I don't want to get into now.

Quote
Can do something on Blizzard Wolfang, Blaze Heatnix, Metal Shark Player, and Ground Scaravich?
Something like buff up their certain attack, speed, and some projectiles attack is indestructible?

I'd love to have an entire new section of boss attack damages, making other projectiles indestructible, speed changes, etc. Maybe I'll get into that sometime after this release is done.
For now, I'm satisfied with giving Yammark a boost, since he was the worst of them all.
« Last Edit: October 12, 2019, 12:52:34 am by acediez »

pating

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
  • The Filipino Shark
    • View Profile
Re: Mega Man X6 Tweaks (v2.0, now with Retranslation)
« Reply #641 on: October 12, 2019, 01:06:18 am »
 :)  :thumbsup:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1EcklCb7GUFKp9zUa5_W43g2pcSTLAu83

here are some of the pics I have for my PSX2PSP. I am planning also to work on the game manual which I think would be somehow personal knowing we have a slight difference when it comes to the damage tables.

I totally agree when you said Yammark was far the worst of them all.  :laugh:
Because of what you did to Yammark, I am now more careful about how to delete this maverick.  ;)

fianovale

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Mega Man X6 Tweaks (v2.0, now with Retranslation)
« Reply #642 on: October 12, 2019, 02:09:00 am »
i really like now the spikes part in the amazon area, and the others edit on stages.
can be done some tweaks in the metal shark secret area too? like put more obstacles or enemies, like the ones on the opening stage. That secret area feels empty and slow even with the auto scroll screen...
and the wolf on gates level, the ones in the fire area between the leaders... their granades explodes on the ceiling...i think the the tank enemis from inami temple will work better there...
These are only suggestion, to think all thes tweaks were only a dream back in the 2001!!! Great work!

pating

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
  • The Filipino Shark
    • View Profile
Re: Mega Man X6 Tweaks (v2.0, now with Retranslation)
« Reply #643 on: October 12, 2019, 02:18:47 am »
With regards to Metal Shark Player stage (Recycle Lab). Putting the game in Xtreme mode is already a lot I think...

Androo_

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Alone
    • View Profile
Re: Mega Man X6 Tweaks (v2.0, now with Retranslation)
« Reply #644 on: October 12, 2019, 04:15:19 pm »
i don't want to interrupt but .. only i have interest in playing with zero nightmare? I use a code for this, it is not perfect but it works until the end, just need a few sprites to replace


fianovale

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Mega Man X6 Tweaks (v2.0, now with Retranslation)
« Reply #645 on: October 12, 2019, 06:21:09 pm »
it would be awesome fight the original zero with hes original sprites :thumbsup:

Aceearly1993

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
    • 1993P Doubleguy at Youtube
Re: Mega Man X6 Tweaks (v2.0, now with Retranslation)
« Reply #646 on: October 13, 2019, 02:26:05 am »
Though the HP value management in the GUI works fine for most bosses I noticed a minor issue with Sigma's HP (first form). His HP stays at a somewhat minimum value (40-58?) even after I raised his HP value to 80 in the GUI.



As a side request I'm in interest if there's any possibility to make Nightmare Zero battle still intact even after the revealing of Gate's Laboratory just like how it's dealt in the prototype build?
« Last Edit: October 13, 2019, 02:34:06 am by Aceearly1993 »
Quote
"Did you know when one's most desperation time is? It's when he was beaten up by someone critically...
And he can't find who caused this."

pating

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
  • The Filipino Shark
    • View Profile
Re: Mega Man X6 Tweaks (v2.0, now with Retranslation)
« Reply #647 on: October 13, 2019, 03:01:51 am »
I personally don't know if acediez can handle that Nightmare Zero thing. But my thoughts regarding having him again is good but it is better if the game can turn into somewhat similar to Maverick Hunter X. Where we can have a clear game save and when we load that file we be able to again defeat all bosses and revisit other stages. Again if this is impossible to have I rather wait for any buffs if there will be for the rest of the boss. As for now the RC20 is already fine with me.

My nephew asked me include the air-dash ability in both X and Shadow Armor X even the slide down move. That's why I also included it now in my profile.

The HP of the bosses I did follow acediez's preferences and I honestly think it was a good idea.

Cupshadow

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: Mega Man X6 Tweaks (v2.0, now with Retranslation)
« Reply #648 on: October 13, 2019, 04:25:16 am »
I found a bug which doesn't happen in original game. Usually if you lost all your life you will start at the check point. But here in this hack you will start at the beginning of the stage.

Edit : Nevermind about it. It was done for balance purposes(Sorry about that)
« Last Edit: October 13, 2019, 04:34:56 am by Cupshadow »

Androo_

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Alone
    • View Profile
Re: Mega Man X6 Tweaks (v2.0, now with Retranslation)
« Reply #649 on: October 13, 2019, 05:22:19 am »
I personally don't know if acediez can handle that Nightmare Zero thing. But my thoughts regarding having him again is good but it is better if the game can turn into somewhat similar to Maverick Hunter X. Where we can have a clear game save and when we load that file we be able to again defeat all bosses and revisit other stages. Again if this is impossible to have I rather wait for any buffs if there will be for the rest of the boss. As for now the RC20 is already fine with me.

My nephew asked me include the air-dash ability in both X and Shadow Armor X even the slide down move. That's why I also included it now in my profile.

The HP of the bosses I did follow acediez's preferences and I honestly think it was a good idea.

I agree
there is only one thing that bothers me in the gameplay, the Black Zero sprite
would be great to replace with the Nightmare Zero sprite

injoon84

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
    • View Profile
Re: Mega Man X6 Tweaks (v2.0, now with Retranslation)
« Reply #650 on: October 13, 2019, 10:34:06 am »
Fixes/Improvements:
- (Experimental) Incomplete Armors/Shadow Armor: the saber palette change is back as a default selection. I edited a problematic color in the green palette, and now all of Shadow Armor's saber animations look ok. However, I'm not sure if the color I replaced is also used by something else, so... let me know if something looks weird (here, and not in the original game).

Since I had to rebuild the base patch, I did a lot of housekeeping. Several addresses moved around and had to be updated manually. A few options were renamed internally, so keep an eye for any changes to your profiles. I hope I don't hit any major regression with all this moving around, but there's always a chance for mistakes, so as always, test reports are welcome.

Report on RC20:

I only test on Incomplete Shadow with Arm, Leg, and Body programs. I mean the whole game using Incomplete Shadow except the intro stage. I didn't find anything funny except for one. In the final stage, during the 8 boss rush battle, the saber palette change to yellow orange. After Shadow teleport out to battle Sigma, the saber palette change back green.

This is my latest profile:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1WbVSQZA1LwET8Gi0f95vYRtFeswrnxBX/view

And to tell you the truth, I always afraid when you do housekeeping. I don't even know where to start checking anymore. If possible, let us know what are the things you move around and we can help out to check if there's any possible bug or not.

pating

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
  • The Filipino Shark
    • View Profile
Re: Mega Man X6 Tweaks (v2.0, now with Retranslation)
« Reply #651 on: October 13, 2019, 10:38:47 am »
I agree
there is only one thing that bothers me in the gameplay, the Black Zero sprite
would be great to replace with the Nightmare Zero sprite

I don't know about that I like the color black and blue.

To be honest I having a hard time what Nightmare Zero's color because I somehow remember a protagonist in a tokusatsu shows that of almost have the same color as Nightmare Zero.

I am afraid that Nightmare Zero might said the same thing.

Pink janai, magenta da...

ORONE *******

Just feeling weird with the color pallet of Nightmare Zero...

October 13, 2019, 10:39:42 am - (Auto Merged - Double Posts are not allowed before 7 days.)
Report on RC20:

I only test on Incomplete Shadow with Arm, Leg, and Body programs. I mean the whole game using Incomplete Shadow except the intro stage. I didn't find anything funny except for one. In the final stage, during the 8 boss rush battle, the saber palette change to yellow orange. After Shadow teleport out to battle Sigma, the saber palette change back green.

This is my latest profile:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1WbVSQZA1LwET8Gi0f95vYRtFeswrnxBX/view

And to tell you the truth, I always afraid when you do housekeeping. I don't even know where to start checking anymore. If possible, let us know what are the things you move around and we can help out to check if there's any possible bug or not.

I will also try that one later

acediez

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 416
    • View Profile
Re: Mega Man X6 Tweaks (v2.0, now with Retranslation)
« Reply #652 on: October 13, 2019, 11:24:18 am »
Report on RC20:

I only test on Incomplete Shadow with Arm, Leg, and Body programs. I mean the whole game using Incomplete Shadow except the intro stage. I didn't find anything funny except for one. In the final stage, during the 8 boss rush battle, the saber palette change to yellow orange. After Shadow teleport out to battle Sigma, the saber palette change back green.
Thanks, I’ll check it out when I find some time.

edit: ok I quickly confirmed it. The falling down speed from walls also resets (the slide down option breaks until you move to the second area). Some values are replaced here separately from the usual stage start code, but it’s working the same way. Should be easy to fix.

And to tell you the truth, I always afraid when you do housekeeping.
Sometimes fixing one thing means other things have to be moved around. Sometimes several of them, sometimes I don’t even know which options will be affected by a recent change. If I did, everything would be perfect from release 1.

I can’t make it more convenient for you. If you’re bothered by how this works, just don’t test anymore. No one is forcing you.
« Last Edit: October 13, 2019, 01:05:28 pm by acediez »

pating

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
  • The Filipino Shark
    • View Profile
Re: Mega Man X6 Tweaks (v2.0, now with Retranslation)
« Reply #653 on: October 13, 2019, 12:29:32 pm »
Confirm with the boss rush with regards to Incomplete Shadow Armor. But I personally don't mind the housekeeping thing. You're the project author and the only thing I can do is to test and report if there are any problems to fix. And thank you for the efforts you made for Megaman X6.  :thumbsup:  :beer:

injoon84

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
    • View Profile
Re: Mega Man X6 Tweaks (v2.0, now with Retranslation)
« Reply #654 on: October 13, 2019, 12:31:56 pm »
I can’t make it more convenient for you. If you’re bothered by how this works, just don’t test anymore. No one is forcing you.

Man, that's hurt. But I get your meaning. Guess, I won't checked back all your option tweaks then.
I'll just refer anything back if it affected my personal profile.
Hopefully, there is no regression and if really do, hopefully they will report it.

acediez

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 416
    • View Profile
Re: Mega Man X6 Tweaks (v2.0, now with Retranslation)
« Reply #655 on: October 13, 2019, 01:04:09 pm »
Man, that's hurt. But I get your meaning. Guess, I won't checked back all your option tweaks then.
I'll just refer anything back if it affected my personal profile.
Hopefully, there is no regression and if really do, hopefully they will report it.
Didn't mean to sound mean, I'm very grateful for how much you've helped testing so far. But sometime big changes are needed, and I can't anticipate and tell you everything that will be affected by it. That's the whole point of testing. So if you're bothered by these updates ("I always afraid when you do housekeeping"), then it's fine if you don't want to test anymore.

If you only test from your personal profile, that's totally fine, and still very appreciated.

Confirm with the boss rush with regards to Incomplete Shadow Armor. But I personally don't mind the housekeeping thing. You're the project author and the only thing I can do is to test and report if there are any problems to fix. And thank you for the efforts you made for Megaman X6.  :thumbsup:  :beer:
Thanks for your support, and thanks for double checking the problem. As I added on an edit of my previous post, I also checked, and even found another related problem. Should be quick to fix though, I'll try to get it done later today.

October 13, 2019, 02:26:28 pm - (Auto Merged - Double Posts are not allowed before 7 days.)
Though the HP value management in the GUI works fine for most bosses I noticed a minor issue with Sigma's HP (first form). His HP stays at a somewhat minimum value (40-58?) even after I raised his HP value to 80 in the GUI.
I’ll check it out. Thanks

As a side request I'm in interest if there's any possibility to make Nightmare Zero battle still intact even after the revealing of Gate's Laboratory just like how it's dealt in the prototype build?
I’ll take a look at it.

« Last Edit: October 13, 2019, 02:26:28 pm by acediez »

Androo_

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Alone
    • View Profile
Re: Mega Man X6 Tweaks (v2.0, now with Retranslation)
« Reply #656 on: October 13, 2019, 08:16:28 pm »
suggestion / correction

The original game allows you to use the "Z-Buster" still with the shield activated.

since you put the enable/disable option like X. I thought you could do that (sorry bad english)


original game print

injoon84

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
    • View Profile
Re: Mega Man X6 Tweaks (v2.0, now with Retranslation)
« Reply #657 on: October 13, 2019, 09:21:32 pm »
Didn't mean to sound mean, I'm very grateful for how much you've helped testing so far. But sometime big changes are needed, and I can't anticipate and tell you everything that will be affected by it. That's the whole point of testing. So if you're bothered by these updates ("I always afraid when you do housekeeping"), then it's fine if you don't want to test anymore.

If you only test from your personal profile, that's totally fine, and still very appreciated.

Sorry for the late reply. I was sleeping. It was very late already in my country.
Yup, I know. That's why I said I get your actual message.
I mean I will still continue tracking new bugs and features.
But whatever been solved earlier, I won't purposely trace it back again unless I coincidently find it.

For instance, I managed to trace those saber bug is because you mentioned it. If not, I won't purposely test the whole game with incomplete Shadow.

The housekeeping thing:
We are already in RC20 plus the older version (15 test). A total of 35 try already.
I mean, we want to help but you can't expect us to blindly test one by one again when we are nearly there, right?
The tweaks patcher option is so big and plenty of choices!
Have you ever play the Mastermind boardgame? It's an old game.
It was like we're in the stage of getting 2 red and 2 white and then you suddenly told us that you change the answer already.
Then, we have no choice but to replay it as a new game. But you actually only change one of the four peg color to a new one.
We can continue playing it if you just inform us about that.

Same goes to your housekeeping. Mostly they were stuffs we have settle earlier right?
It's just that because you move certain stuffs around, only that part might have regression.
This is where we can help out if you can roughly tell us what are the things you have moved around.
We can focus more on that related issue and I believe some of us will even checked one by one on that related options.
This will greatly reduce our checking and not like asking us to try out everything again like back to square one.

October 14, 2019, 12:38:02 am - (Auto Merged - Double Posts are not allowed before 7 days.)
suggestion / correction
The original game allows you to use the "Z-Buster" still with the shield activated.
since you put the enable/disable option like X. I thought you could do that (sorry bad english)

original game print
That is not even a correction.
All you need to do is:
1) Activate Zero's Guard Shell, and
2) Rotate your Guard Shell special Weaponbar to other Special Weaponbar.
There you go. Now, you can keep the Guard Shell while using the Z-Buster.
It was actually superior than X's Guard Shell in the sense you can't rotate to other Special Weaponbar while it was activated.
« Last Edit: October 14, 2019, 12:38:02 am by injoon84 »

Androo_

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Alone
    • View Profile
Re: Mega Man X6 Tweaks (v2.0, now with Retranslation)
« Reply #658 on: October 14, 2019, 01:36:20 am »
Sorry for the late reply. I was sleeping. It was very late already in my country.
Yup, I know. That's why I said I get your actual message.
I mean I will still continue tracking new bugs and features.
But whatever been solved earlier, I won't purposely trace it back again unless I coincidently find it.

For instance, I managed to trace those saber bug is because you mentioned it. If not, I won't purposely test the whole game with incomplete Shadow.

The housekeeping thing:
We are already in RC20 plus the older version (15 test). A total of 35 try already.
I mean, we want to help but you can't expect us to blindly test one by one again when we are nearly there, right?
The tweaks patcher option is so big and plenty of choices!
Have you ever play the Mastermind boardgame? It's an old game.
It was like we're in the stage of getting 2 red and 2 white and then you suddenly told us that you change the answer already.
Then, we have no choice but to replay it as a new game. But you actually only change one of the four peg color to a new one.
We can continue playing it if you just inform us about that.

Same goes to your housekeeping. Mostly they were stuffs we have settle earlier right?
It's just that because you move certain stuffs around, only that part might have regression.
This is where we can help out if you can roughly tell us what are the things you have moved around.
We can focus more on that related issue and I believe some of us will even checked one by one on that related options.
This will greatly reduce our checking and not like asking us to try out everything again like back to square one.

October 14, 2019, 12:38:02 am - (Auto Merged - Double Posts are not allowed before 7 days.)
That is not even a correction.
All you need to do is:
1) Activate Zero's Guard Shell, and
2) Rotate your Guard Shell special Weaponbar to other Special Weaponbar.
There you go. Now, you can keep the Guard Shell while using the Z-Buster.
It was actually superior than X's Guard Shell in the sense you can't rotate to other Special Weaponbar while it was activated.

I realize this, I had already seen, but I do not recommend using both options, otherwise you will be accidentally deactivating at all times
example - ⬇️+Δ Ensuizan (even if you change the bar)

I'll leave his option enabled only
I love your work  :thumbsup:

acediez

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 416
    • View Profile
Re: Mega Man X6 Tweaks (v2.0, now with Retranslation)
« Reply #659 on: October 14, 2019, 10:13:27 am »
Quote
But whatever been solved earlier, I won't purposely trace it back again unless I coincidently find it.
That's totally fine.

Quote
I mean, we want to help but you can't expect us to blindly test one by one again when we are nearly there, right?
I appreciate you going out of your way to test the patcher in different ways, but I don't "expect" you to do it, much less after each release. Just to let me know if you see something wrong in whatever way you decide to play the game.

It's just that because you move certain stuffs around, only that part might have regression.
This is where we can help out if you can roughly tell us what are the things you have moved around.
As I said, the whole base patch had to be rebuilt to fix issues with the new Shadow Armor sound effect files. So anything Shadow Armor related needed to be tested.

Besides that, changing file sizes means all the options related to disc files other than the main executable had to be manually updated one by one. Options such as:
- All graphic changes (title screen, loading logo, mugshots, all palette changes including the ones from the "incomplete armors" option)
- All stage mods

Additionally, I moved a lot of options that were embedded to the base patches to the patcher itself, so they're easier to mantain in the future:
- Mugshot display code.
- All script text related code (variable font width, text box position, menu layout modifications).
- Every minor original game bugfix I've mentioned as included in the base patch (mugshots animation, Rekkoha mission report message, High Max boss health size by level fix, Cheat Code 1 not forcing Falcon Armor in, remembering cutscenes triggered by Zero... These are all listed in the readme.txt)

The good news is, I also expanded and matched several files' size across both base patches (original script and new script use different base patches), so, unless a critical file has to be reduced in size (unlikely), I won't have to go through this process again.

I suppose mentioning this before could've made testing easier, but the point is, there's ALWAYS a chance for a mistake or a new option to affect previously working ones in a way I didn't anticipate. Romhacking will always be messy.

Still, I get your point, and if there's any need for another big rearrangement (though I hope this is the last one), I'll be more descriptive of the changes.



I realize this, I had already seen, but I do not recommend using both options, otherwise you will be accidentally deactivating at all times
example - ⬇️+Δ Ensuizan (even if you change the bar)

Even though it will only activate/deactivate if the Guard Shell is selected... I just realized, it will be selected automatically whenever a bullet is fired and the ammo is reduced. This will most likely cause accidental deactivations. Is this what you mean?

I'll try to make it so it isn't automatically selected on each use.



I fixed the palette changes to the Shadow Armor's saber on the boss rush area, it was a quick fix as I expected. However, I haven't updated yet because ran into a major issues with the "slide down by pressing ↓" option while on this stage, one that can potentially freeze the game.

I'll be having a lot less free time this week, but I'll try to update with these fixes soon.
« Last Edit: October 14, 2019, 11:12:51 am by acediez »