News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Zelda NES Hacking Questions  (Read 1597 times)

RetroNova10

• View Profile
Zelda NES Hacking Questions
« on: April 03, 2018, 07:40:16 pm »
To start off, I'll say that I have little to no experience with asm, but I do generally understand the basics of it (how it implements different commands and such). I also am quite lacking when it comes to knowledge of NES hardware and software as well. I do know Java, however, and have worked in a few other languages as well, so I have a sense of how software works and everything of that nature.

I'm generally more focused on game design. I really want to make a more artistically-interesting Zelda hack with different areas (dungeons and overworld), because I love working within limitations (I've made custom content for Banjo-Kazooie and DOOM II).

So, I drew several tiles and began drawing over those in the ROM. However, I had forgotten that many 16x16 sprites reuse 8x8 tiles as to save memory.

So I'm curious: how can I disable this tile reusing, so that I can have the freedom of allowing sprites to be more uniquely drawn?

I'm thinking one part of the solution might require ROM expansion, and, if not, I'm assuming the following question's solution will...

How can I increase the number of possible tiles (and possibly increase variation of palettes used for tiles within one room)?

On another note, here's the planned look of the title screen, and mockup concept of the box art (just for fun. I haven't gotten around to writing "Return" in the proper handwritten font yet)  ;).

Thanks for reading!

Disch

• NES Junkie
    • View Profile
Re: Zelda NES Hacking Questions
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2018, 12:51:06 am »
So I'm curious: how can I disable this tile reusing, so that I can have the freedom of allowing sprites to be more uniquely drawn?