Hacking a cheat code into a ROM (Avengers in Galactic Storm)

Started by jr121, August 06, 2022, 02:21:13 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jr121

So I will start out by being upfront and saying I have very little romhacking experience (Which is to say, I've done some exceptionally basic text edits in some old arcade games to sort of familiarize myself with basic hex editing).

Essentially, I'm trying to hack a cheat code into a rom file to create a rudimentary boss hack for Avengers in Galactic Storm (I help run the tournaments for the game, and me and the a few others in the community have expressed interest at getting the game's boss playable in a proper fashion). We have cheat codes that allow him to be played, but due to limits around how the tournaments are run, cheat codes can't be used (Not a rule thing, it's a software issue), so I've been looking into creating a romhack.

The cheat codes let us know that setting hex values 108E48 and 108FF8 to a value of 08 will cause the cursor to start on the unselectable boss character, though a player can freely move off of it, unfortunately, due to it being a MAME rom of several files, it's not a simple edit.

Going through Mame's writexml, files sf_00-0.7k and sf_01-0.7l correspond to the main CPU, while everything is gfx or 'ymz' (Presumably in reference in the MLC's Yamaha sound processor), and unless I'm mistaken (Entirely possible), those are the files I need to tinker with in order to allow this to work. I've used 010 editor to interleave the files, but it's still too small to find that address.

What am I doing wrong, and what can I do to make this change? Any help is appreciated.

Bavi_H

I found a memory map for Avengers In Galactic Storm. The beginning of this memory map says

address range 000000 to 0FFFFF is ROM
address range 100000 to 11FFFF is RAM