News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules

Author Topic: Snes emulators (Canoe, Snes9x) -- game problems and fixes  (Read 936158 times)

sluffy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 642
    • View Profile
Re: Snes emulators (Canoe, Snes9x) -- game problems and fixes
« Reply #740 on: March 22, 2018, 04:43:31 pm »
Uniracers -- debug testers (0000 pid, USA, clean rom)
https://www.sendspace.com/file/ax0uds
https://www.sendspace.com/file/7x1mbe

Start a game. Don't move. Wait for sticky cpu. Now press select. Keep doing this until both racers disappear. Count how many clicks it takes.

Now believe that Uniracers, Nosferatu, Eye of the Beholder all share same oam address bug. Not uploading to correct spot.


For Street Racer, it was changing sprite size mid-frame. Mohawk title. Outlander title. Have to downsize sprites manually somehow.



===1
For JP, maybe Canoe 10A2 didn't expect a 3MB LoROM game. May try SA-1 converting this (Kirby3 = 4MB LoROM). But want to get Uniracers another look.


Jurassic Park (rev1, USA, 10A2 pid, clean rom)
https://www.sendspace.com/file/zfgnea

SA-1 map. Unknown results.
« Last Edit: March 22, 2018, 05:18:28 pm by sluffy »

BigLongJohnson

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Snes emulators (Canoe, Snes9x) -- game problems and fixes
« Reply #741 on: March 22, 2018, 04:52:28 pm »
Sluffy, to open these files, change .clvs to .tar.gz and open with winrar or 7zip.

The sram will be called sram.hash - I don't know if that format is what you are looking for though.

No! The sram is called "cartridge.sram".  "cartridge.sram.hash" is just a 20-byte SHA-1 that get's appended to "cartridge.sram"







just tested all 4 Jurassic Park patches with preset id's 0000, 10A2, 10A4

game boots with 0000 for all the patches, glitchness around Grant persists

game black screens with all the patches on preset id's 10A2, 10A4.  Never throws an error, just a black screen

sram is never generated for any of the tests, however, if you create a savestate and load from it, the sram will be created

only going to post the first two bytes of each save, because everything after the first two bytes is exactly the same for each save file. bytes 2-7 are "4E 54 45 4E 44 4F" with the rest of the bytes always being "60"

------| test1| test2|test2a| test3|
=============================
0000| 0000 | 4E49 | n/a  | 0000 |
10A2| 4E49 | 4E49 | n/a  | 4E49 |
10A4| 4E49 | 4E49 | n/a  | 4E49 |

test2a generated .sram's, however besides a 20-byte checksum, they are blank saves.

EDIT:  decided I may as well upload the saves. Here's a link to all 12 .srams if anyone wants to take a look.  You can ignore the last 20-bytes of each .sram.  That's the SHA-1 the SNES Classic generates for save encryption
https://dbr.ee/fIEI

EDIT2:  tested patch 4.
0000 black screen. unlike the other tests that showed a black screen, this one doesn't even load the SNES Classic game border and throws c7 upon reset.

10A2 and 10A4 black screen.  first two bytes of .sram are 4E49.  not going to bother uploading unless asked for.

here's the MD5's of the roms
vanilla: FF42B93F32C7921A88EF46FDF79A8445
test1:   F1352B2D36FEBAFC89C8925C28F4A87D
test2:   F78906A9AF825186E01F5D5A54214C58
test2a: EEA8057F941BCA1D9B7698DE56313C0F
test3:   B1B7770BAF39E0FFB4FB6F85C0778DBD
test4:   6FAF1B48D6B260C92416FC56EFCFE8D2









Kirby's Dream Land 3
TLDR:

- Preset ID "10A2" disables the SRAM entirely.
- Preset ID "10A4" enables SRAM, but the SRAM save mechanism must be triggered.
- Soft-resetting the game triggered the SRAM save 100% of the time (20 times out of 20).
- The question is why the SRAM save does not trigger when it's supposed to (I'm assuming after the completion of a stage).
- What is it about soft-resetting that triggers the SRAM save?

Just wanted to note that you can also force .sram creation by loading a save-state.  so technically, you can force Kirby on 10A2 to save by creating and then loading a save state.
« Last Edit: March 22, 2018, 06:16:24 pm by BigLongJohnson »

Fire-WSP

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 170
    • View Profile
Re: Snes emulators (Canoe, Snes9x) -- game problems and fixes
« Reply #742 on: March 22, 2018, 05:58:14 pm »
Unfortunately a black screen for JP here with latest patch.

sluffy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 642
    • View Profile
Re: Snes emulators (Canoe, Snes9x) -- game problems and fixes
« Reply #743 on: March 22, 2018, 06:00:12 pm »
Verify:
vanilla = FF42B93F32C7921A88EF46FDF79A8445
JP test4 = 6FAF1B48D6B260C92416FC56EFCFE8D2


===1 Fun code
Code: [Select]
NHL 96 -- boot crash for snes9x 1.51
$87/F120 4C 20 43    JMP $4320  [$87:4320]   A:0000 X:AF93 Y:5001 D:4300 DB:7E S:03FC P:eNvmxdIzc HC:0212 VC:147 FC:26 I:00


run code from dma registers ...
874320 mvn $c1,$7e            A:0000 X:af93 Y:5001 S:03fc D:4300 DB:7e NvmxdIzc V:140 H: 644 F:24
874323 jmp $f0f5     [87f0f5] A:ffff X:af94 Y:5002 S:03fc D:4300 DB:7e NvmxdIzc V:140 H: 690 F:24
« Last Edit: March 22, 2018, 06:28:20 pm by sluffy »

reyvgm

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1290
    • View Profile
Re: Snes emulators (Canoe, Snes9x) -- game problems and fixes
« Reply #744 on: March 22, 2018, 06:32:58 pm »
Nice detailed explanation, BigLong...guy.
« Last Edit: March 22, 2018, 06:54:07 pm by reyvgm »

sluffy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 642
    • View Profile
Re: Snes emulators (Canoe, Snes9x) -- game problems and fixes
« Reply #745 on: March 22, 2018, 07:22:14 pm »
Saw hidden post now.


Quote
game boots with 0000 for all the patches, glitchness around Grant persists

Now I'm confused. :)


Grant glitched pixels:
vanilla 0000 = okay? bad?
vanilla 10a2 = bad?
test 0000 = same glitch?
test 10a2 = black


0000 pid = sram okay. Should match.
10a2 pid = sram program not run. says NINTENDO.
10a4 pid = sram program not run. says NINTENDO.

Inconclusive. Basically idea failed since can't run test correctly yet. Thanks for trying.

reyvgm

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1290
    • View Profile
Re: Snes emulators (Canoe, Snes9x) -- game problems and fixes
« Reply #746 on: March 22, 2018, 07:38:14 pm »
Okay, someone please test Jurassic Park the following way. Please use Hakchi, not SFROM Tool. I will write the IDs exactly how they go in hakchi.
You are looking for these sprite glitches on the main character:

Stand still with Grant looking at the screen and check if there are rogue pixels.
https://imgur.com/Z0RCr4I

Walk with Grant diagonally up/right and check if there are rogue pixels.
https://imgur.com/hgziB1c

Vanilla ROM, ID 0000 = Should boot, but there will be no transparencies. Is Grant glitched like the images show?
Vanilla ROM, ID A210 = Should boot, have transparencies, but Grant will have the glitches. CONFIRMED BY ME.
ROM + previous patch, ID 0000 = What happens?
ROM + previous patch, ID A210 = Black Screen?


March 22, 2018, 08:05:05 pm - (Auto Merged - Double Posts are not allowed before 7 days.)
*EDIT*

Demi tests:

Jurassic Park (Rev 1) with jp_test4.ips

0000 = Black Screen on launch, no error
A210/10A2 = Black Screen on launch, no error
 



March 22, 2018, 08:40:17 pm - (Auto Merged - Double Posts are not allowed before 7 days.)


BigLongJonston additional info because his posts are still in moderator limbo:

Can you post the following on romhacking.net for me? Since I'm still a new user over there, my posts are stuck in limbo until a moderator verifies my posts. I'd edit my previous post, but I don't want Sluffy to overlook it!

When I posted my test results earlier, I wasn't sure exactly what we were looking for. I thought the checkerboard shadow below Grant was the glitchiness. I saw your two pictures over on romhacking and can confirm the following tests,

test1 on 0000 = fine, no random colored pixels appearing around Grant when moving
test2 on 0000 = fine, no random colored pixels appearing around Grant when moving
test2a on 0000 = fine, no random colored pixels appearing around Grant when moving
test3 on 0000 = fine, no random colored pixels appearing around Grant when moving
test4 on 0000 = black screen on boot. no SNES classic border shown. c7 error when I reset

all patches on either 10A2 or 10A4 = black screen upon boot, shows SNES classic border, no c7 upon reset

vanilla Rev 1 on 0000 = fine, no random colored pixels appearing around Grant when moving
vanilla Rev 1 on 10A2 = glitchy pixels appearing around Grant (just like your pictures), game lags
vanilla Rev 1 on 10A4 = glitchy pixels appearing around Grant (just like your pictures), game lags
 

Give my apologies to Sluffy for any confusion!
« Last Edit: March 22, 2018, 09:43:53 pm by reyvgm »

BigLongJohnson

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Snes emulators (Canoe, Snes9x) -- game problems and fixes
« Reply #747 on: March 22, 2018, 09:41:53 pm »
vanilla Rev 1 on 0000 = fine, no random colored pixels appearing around Grant when moving
vanilla Rev 1 on 10A2 = glitchy pixels appearing around Grant (just like your pictures), game lags
vanilla Rev 1 on 10A4 = glitchy pixels appearing around Grant (just like your pictures), game lags

game lags slightly on 10A2 and 10A4 in addition to the glitchy pixels around Grant. "Welcome To Jurassic Park" audio is choppy. Grant movement is choppy.

I'm a little freaked out. Just retested vanilla Rev 1 on 10A2 and 10A4. Glitchy pixels appear around Grant, however, this time I have no lag on both IDs.

Only thing that changed between this testing and the last testing was I actually shut down my SNES Classic. I've been testing for a couple hours. Maybe a full power-down cleared some cache/ram, thus no more lagging? Not sure what happened.

So ignore the previous post about lag being present. Don't want to confuse Sluffy with a non-existent issue!

sluffy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 642
    • View Profile
Re: Snes emulators (Canoe, Snes9x) -- game problems and fixes
« Reply #748 on: March 22, 2018, 09:53:20 pm »
So one idea is screwed until someone figures out how to hack homebrew SA-1 games for Canoe. Other methods aren't getting through.


Summary:
test1-3 = 0000 pid boots okay. 3-4 MB LoROM. Transparency problem.
*** We know that LoROM mapping is okay.

test1-3 = 10A2 pid dies. Unknown reason.
test4 = Kirby3 disguise. SA-1 dies regardless. Emus okay. Unknown reason.


JP = 0000 boots okay. 2MB LoROM. Transparency problem.
JP = 10A2 works. Maybe needs nolow-latency. Grant artifacts.



This will replace raptors, T-Rex with Grant. 10A2 pid. rev1. clean. 2MB LoROM. Purely for info finding.
https://www.sendspace.com/file/mygcfo
== If we get same artifacts, it's blending layering algorithm
== If we get no artifacts, 10A2 is corrupting rom
== If we get different artifacts, could be even more 10A2 rom corruption
== If we get no boot, Canoe is being an *#



Moving on to others:
- Hoping Uniracers joypad test works. That would be critical for (dis)proving OAM theory. And get 2-3 more games out the door.

- EA Sports. Got lots of requests. So. These hang right before speech sample is playing? Take NHL - referee triggers hdma audio streaming for blowing whistle. Portrait shows and hangs? Or mutes mid-sample?

- Top Gear. May want orange highlighter on docs. Many will overlook this. Glitch #2? And video of #3 for frame stepping.

- Space Football: One on One. Docs says: no boot. Other says hang after title?

- Dark Law. I should take a look at fixing the glitch hud.
« Last Edit: March 22, 2018, 10:29:29 pm by sluffy »

BigLongJohnson

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Snes emulators (Canoe, Snes9x) -- game problems and fixes
« Reply #749 on: March 22, 2018, 10:13:38 pm »
This will replace raptors, T-Rex with Grant. 10A2 pid. rev1. clean. 2MB LoROM. Purely for info finding.
https://www.sendspace.com/file/mygcfo
== If we get same artifacts, it's blending layering algorithm
== If we get no artifacts, 10A2 is corrupting rom
== If we get different artifacts, could be even more 10A2 rom corruption
== If we get no boot, Canoe is being an *#


Sounds like the best rom hack ever!  I want a hack where you play as a Raptor and every enemy is Grant.

Grant now only glitches when moving down-left.  Just a glitchy block rather than stray pixels like the previous testing
Raptors are a total glitchy mess unless they're moving straight-down.
https://imgur.com/a/D8Rms

Didn't test on a TRex because I'm not sure where they spawn.

Screenshots are a little grey because the game is paused.  All the glitches also appear on Higan if you'd like to see them for yourself.

Also, sluffy, you can disregard my report about Jurassic Park being laggy.  See my previous post!
« Last Edit: March 22, 2018, 10:35:51 pm by BigLongJohnson »

sluffy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 642
    • View Profile
Re: Snes emulators (Canoe, Snes9x) -- game problems and fixes
« Reply #750 on: March 22, 2018, 10:47:41 pm »
Just noticed that block randomly happens in snes9x too (down-left walk). So 10A2 can blow up the rom. Unsafe. And going over 2MB isn't working yet. Guess I'll have to try diff'ing the roms to know exact changes. I'll think of something.

Thanks for reporting. A few more posts and you'll be out of moderation. ;)


And since this might've got buried some posts back:
Quote
Preset ID: 109C (Super Mario RPG)
Block: 0-1FFC

Preset ID: 109F (Kirby Super Star) [needs confirmation]
Block: 1F00-1FFE

Preset ID: 123D (Yoshi's Island)
Block: 7C00-7E7B

Preset ID: 1245 (Star Fox 2) [needs confirmation]
Block: 3912-3A45

Seems that SNES games that have special chips generate their SHA-1 for saves differently from the standard method.

This info is needed by BigLongJohnson for doing Canoe sram transfers.


===1
Probably need video of 1 EA sports hang. Later ones are all similar engines.


===2
Pirates of Dark Water = mid-frame size sprite change again. Have to shrink fighter down from 16x16; item gained is 8x8 tile.
« Last Edit: March 22, 2018, 11:34:51 pm by sluffy »

FormerTree

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: Snes emulators (Canoe, Snes9x) -- game problems and fixes
« Reply #751 on: March 23, 2018, 01:38:40 am »
Uniracers -- debug testers (0000 pid, USA, clean rom)
https://www.sendspace.com/file/ax0uds
https://www.sendspace.com/file/7x1mbe

Start a game. Don't move. Wait for sticky cpu. Now press select. Keep doing this until both racers disappear. Count how many clicks it takes.

First, let's verify that we have clean ROMs:
USA ROM CRC 0x383858C7
USA ROM w/ debug1 Patch CRC 0xB9D1E376
USA ROM w/ debug1A Patch CRC 0x5801A2EA

Entering race:
1P -> Mike -> Crawler -> Dragster -> Race.

debug1:
25 (twenty five) times makes both racers disappear

debug1a:
25 (twenty five) times makes both racers disappear

Tested five times on each patch, 25 each time.


Thanks again for all your hard work sluffy, really appreciate it.

sluffy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 642
    • View Profile
Re: Snes emulators (Canoe, Snes9x) -- game problems and fixes
« Reply #752 on: March 23, 2018, 08:52:42 am »
Thanks so much for getting this done. Wasn't fully what I wanted, but revealed important clue. Canoe: two oam writes = save data always; one = trashed.


Uniracers (USA, 0000 pid, clean rom) -- fix offscreen racer
https://www.sendspace.com/file/qlsy6z

Check 1p,2p,vs modes.

lich

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
    • View Profile
Re: Snes emulators (Canoe, Snes9x) -- game problems and fixes
« Reply #753 on: March 23, 2018, 09:25:22 am »
Thanks so much for getting this done. Wasn't fully what I wanted, but revealed important clue. Canoe: two oam writes = save data always; one = trashed.


Uniracers (USA, 0000 pid, clean rom) -- fix offscreen racer
https://www.sendspace.com/file/qlsy6z

Check 1p,2p,vs modes.


Testing the patch right now. So far, I've played 1 player mode and I can see the enemy all the time. I haven't played this game a lot, so I have problems catching up with the opponent. Can you or someone specify all the problems we should look after? Is the only glitch remaining that the opponent suddently vanishes? The sluffy canoe fixes list is quite vague. Gonna try 2player mode now and different characters.


**edit**

2 player mode vid

https://streamable.com/7v6qg
« Last Edit: March 23, 2018, 09:39:34 am by lich »

sluffy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 642
    • View Profile
Re: Snes emulators (Canoe, Snes9x) -- game problems and fixes
« Reply #754 on: March 23, 2018, 09:33:09 am »
Hey, welcome back. If you can always see opponent on 1p, that's bad. If you stand still, other racer should disappear. Let me recheck this.

lich

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
    • View Profile
Re: Snes emulators (Canoe, Snes9x) -- game problems and fixes
« Reply #755 on: March 23, 2018, 09:47:35 am »
Hey, welcome back. If you can always see opponent on 1p, that's bad. If you stand still, other racer should disappear. Let me recheck this.

Thanks mate.

Vid of 1-player-mode when I stand still a game and next game I catch up against the opponent. Don't forget that I edited my previous post with a vid (2player)

https://streamable.com/zcdke
« Last Edit: March 23, 2018, 10:01:51 am by lich »

sluffy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 642
    • View Profile
Re: Snes emulators (Canoe, Snes9x) -- game problems and fixes
« Reply #756 on: March 23, 2018, 10:06:41 am »
Thanks, will watch. And oh. Top Gear 2 is fixed, but we need Top Gear 1 vets to play South America (check if tunnel glitches with patch) and Germany (video of offscreen objects randomly appearing).


Password is HORIZONS. May want to play TG1 vanilla on SA first to see tunnels glitch.


===1
Uniracers video looks good so far. Vanilla: when CPU goes offscreen, it reappears right in the middle again and trolls you with its tricks.

VS split uses known tricky OAM behavior and unsure how Canoe handles.


===2
1P video looks okay.
2P video looks bad. Just hangs there in space.
« Last Edit: March 23, 2018, 10:30:10 am by sluffy »

reyvgm

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1290
    • View Profile
Re: Snes emulators (Canoe, Snes9x) -- game problems and fixes
« Reply #757 on: March 23, 2018, 10:35:12 am »

2 player mode vid

https://streamable.com/7v6qg

I guess this is glitched? The red player is moving around in the air after a bit.

Vid of 1-player-mode when I stand still a game and next game I catch up against the opponent. Don't forget that I edited my previous post with a vid (2player)

https://streamable.com/zcdke

And this one looks fine? I'm not familiar with the game, and I don't exactly know what were the issues.

Thanks, will watch. And oh. Top Gear 2 is fixed, but we need Top Gear 1 vets to play South America (check if tunnel glitches with patch) and Germany (video of offscreen objects randomly appearing).
Password is HORIZONS. May want to play TG1 vanilla on SA first to see tunnels glitch.

This is what's needed:

Use this PATCH first:
Top Gear 1 (USA, 0000 pid, clean rom)
https://www.sendspace.com/file/gfxbfv

Then, at the main menu, select "Country", then "UK" and enter password "HORIZONS" to unlock all countries in easy mode. Pick the white car, uses less gas and goes fast enough. The game is easy, enjoy the music.

To test the 2nd glitch, select South America, and right at the beginning will be a tunnel. Check if there are glitches outside or inside the tunnel (make a video if possible). Check that things are not warped or out of place. I believe someone already tested this and said there were no issues?

To test the 3rd glitch, race the first country (USA) until you reach the 4th race, where the issue happens the most. The game is easy.
Check if objects such as trees, pegs, blockades, are where they are not supposed to be. Trees should not be in the road. There will be pegs and road blocks on certain parts, but I remember them being glitched.
Anytime you see something, stop or reduce speed and make a video if possible.

sluffy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 642
    • View Profile
Re: Snes emulators (Canoe, Snes9x) -- game problems and fixes
« Reply #758 on: March 23, 2018, 01:40:41 pm »
Waited long time to get Uniracers (USA, clean, 0000 pid) off my board.
https://www.sendspace.com/file/rz8g6y
https://www.sendspace.com/file/s2k1e3

Don't know which will work. Guessing #1.


2P should show 4 racers at start (two top/bottom). Once goes out-of-bounds, then you should only see 2. Should behave like a normal racing game.

reyvgm

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1290
    • View Profile
Re: Snes emulators (Canoe, Snes9x) -- game problems and fixes
« Reply #759 on: March 23, 2018, 01:45:33 pm »
Demi tests

Space Football: One on One
I've tested the game. It boots to title screen just fine, but when you press start, it hangs on black screen.