News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Brutal Mario - Any way to skip intro?  (Read 1602 times)

Brandon1091

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Brutal Mario - Any way to skip intro?
« on: August 23, 2017, 09:21:27 pm »
I recently got a copy of Brutal Mario for the SNES. It boots up just fine, but once the intro begins, it always gets hung up on the last image, and never goes to the map screen.

Is there any way to skip the intro altogether? I've played around a little with Pro Action Replay, but other than getting the game to start on a really glitchy level, I haven't been able to accomplish much.

KingMike

  • Forum Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6885
  • *sigh* A changed avatar. Big deal.
    • View Profile
Re: Brutal Mario - Any way to skip intro?
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2017, 10:16:49 pm »
Super Mario World is notorious for old hacks being based on bad emulation that pretty much requires keeping ZSNES around (even though the emulator should otherwise be considered obsolete by this point, I think).

Have you checked that?

(the particular issue that crashed most hacks was sound, using an old engine/hack based on incorrect documentation about how the real SNES APU works)
"My watch says 30 chickens" Google, 2018

Brandon1091

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Brutal Mario - Any way to skip intro?
« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2017, 11:31:49 pm »
Oh yeah, it works perfectly within ZSNES. This is a repro cart that I'm trying to run on my SNES.

I own a Retron 5 as well, and it doesn't even attempt to run it at all. I'm not sure what it is about the intro that's locking it up, but I was hoping there may be some work around to bypass it completely.

Like I said, I've messed around with a few Pro Action Replay codes just to see if I could trick my way through it, but I haven't had much luck so far.

KingMike

  • Forum Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6885
  • *sigh* A changed avatar. Big deal.
    • View Profile
Re: Brutal Mario - Any way to skip intro?
« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2017, 01:00:19 am »
We must be looking at different hacks called "Brutal Mario".

The one I checked (using a ROM I seem to have patched in 2007) has the standard SMW intro (other than changed text), so it doesn't lock out.

But all I can suggest, is there some way to transfer a save file between a PC and Retron?
"My watch says 30 chickens" Google, 2018

Teeporage777

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 77
  • rom hacker of mario games
    • View Profile
Re: Brutal Mario - Any way to skip intro?
« Reply #4 on: August 24, 2017, 05:52:55 pm »
i owned a repro cart of brutal mario and it worked fine. can you send it back?
"..But it doesn't matter. Nothing matters anymore.."

Brandon1091

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Brutal Mario - Any way to skip intro?
« Reply #5 on: August 25, 2017, 09:27:53 pm »
Yeah, it's a custom build of the game I came across a long time ago. It's an English translation, but it contains one of the later builds of the game that has custom music on the stages and overworld.

I'd be glad to send a copy if either of you guys want to check it out.

I could copy the save to the cartridge of the Retron would recognize the cart at all. It won't even boot unless I play it on my SNES.

Teeporage777

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 77
  • rom hacker of mario games
    • View Profile
Re: Brutal Mario - Any way to skip intro?
« Reply #6 on: August 25, 2017, 11:10:58 pm »
yeah retons are notorious for not playing hacked carts. they are best played on real hardware. thankfully brutal is a very popular hacked to make into cartridge form and are easy to find as well as being fairly cheap. I would love to help but i will be extremely busy this week. I hope someone can help you out.
"..But it doesn't matter. Nothing matters anymore.."