News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules

Author Topic: Battle of Olympus - Rebalanced + SRAM Saving  (Read 20740 times)

8.bit.fan

• View Profile
    • 8-bit fan's Hacking Projects
Battle of Olympus - Rebalanced + SRAM Saving
« on: July 19, 2017, 02:54:39 pm »
Hi Everyone,
Since I'm taking a break from hacking MM games, I thought I'd try to hack my other NES favorites and try to "modernize" them. And since I really only have experience hacking MM games, I'd consider myself pretty much a complete newbie in the hacking scene and could use some help!

So, is anyone here familiar with hacking The Battle of Olympus for the NES?

I've always wanted to hack the game to make it more accessible to novice players or just make it more casually playable. I love the game, but some of the in-game items costs quite a bit and grinding for olives can be very time consuming at times and can take the fun out of the game. Not to mention you lose 1/2 of the olives when you die.

Just wondering if anyone knows how to, or where in the hex to edit, to increase the drop rate of olives in the game? Or how to remove losing 1/2 the olives when you die?

Thanks in advance and any help or if anyone can point me in the right direction would be much appreciated! :)

Once I can figure out how to do the above, I'd also like to add an SRAM option instead of the cumbersome password system...but that'll be for later as I don't even know if I can accomplish the above.

Cheers! :)

8-bit fan

UPDATE 7/24/2017:

The beta is ready for anyone that wants to check it out.
Here's the IPS:
http://www.romhacking.net/scratchpad/8112/
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B3c4zWxe_g5ONmVjY0pyVGxKb0E

Things done so far:
1) 1/8 of olives taken away instead of 1/2 upon death.
2) Increased olives/bay leaves drop rate.
3) Save Game when speaking to the gods.
4) Load Game by hitting START at the password input screen.