News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules

Author Topic: Extract artworks from PC-Engine CD image?  (Read 2908 times)

MisterXen

• View Profile
Extract artworks from PC-Engine CD image?
« on: June 02, 2017, 07:39:44 pm »
Greetings everyone! I am interested in ripping backgrounds/sprites from PC-Engine CD-Rom games. I am aware of method like this but wanted to know if more direct approaches are available. Take the game Dracula X as an example, with guidance from this post I was able to separate the image file into 20 sound files and 2 data tracks. The sound files played alright but I have no idea how to unpack the data tracks :( . I suppose no general tools exist for this kind of tasks (correct me if I am wrong) so hex hacking is a necessity, I have some experience in C/Python but are completely new to this scene, and I'd be glad if some one can point me to some tutorial/resources for beginners :)

Also just out of curiosity, why is the size of ripped tracks much smaller than the original image? ISO of Dracula X is about 500M but ripped tracks are only like 64M :o

KingMike

• Forum Moderator
  • *sigh* A changed avatar. Big deal.
    • View Profile
Re: Extract artworks from PC-Engine CD image?
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2017, 10:08:12 pm »
Ripped audio tracks have probably been compressed to MP3 or something.
"My watch says 30 chickens" Google, 2018

MisterXen

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2017, 10:29:13 pm »
Ripped audio tracks have probably been compressed to MP3 or something.
This :thumbsup:, should have noticed all ripped music files are 80kbps Ogg

elmer

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 03, 2017, 11:24:35 am »
You've got two issues here ... (1) getting a good rip with the data and audio tracks separated, (2) getting the graphics out of the data track.

For ripping a PCE CD, you can use something like these on Windows ...

NightWolve's TurboRIP & TOCFixer
http://www.ysutopia.net/index.php?ind=downloads&op=section_view&idev=3