News:

11 March 2016 - Forum Rules

Main Menu

Fewer Excuses for making Text-only Programs

Started by pianohombre, June 02, 2017, 03:50:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

pianohombre

It's so easy to make a GUI program, and most computer classes cover the basics of it in courses in college. There really should be no excuse for people to just write a program, getting it to work, then running it in the command prompt. It's only a few extra steps to make a functioning GUI there really should be no excuse for people to just leave it command-only. There's a lot of programs on here that are like 50kb or less, that are just these bare bones DOS programs. There's Visual Studio, Eclipse and many other compilers that let you create a GUI for free!
"Programming in itself is beauty,
whether or not the operating system actually functions." - Steve Wozniak

Disch

I've been saying this since 1998.

But in all fairness, some programs (like compilers/assemblers) absolutely should be command-line only so they can be worked into batch scripts and the like.  Guis for those kinds of things should be separate programs.

flame

How do you make a GUI with Python and yes, I'm too lazy to Google it.

I took programming for engineers. Easy programming tasks like:
Writing pseudocode
Setting variables
Doing math
Doing loops
Input/output

Were covered. GUIs were not covered. I think it was a 2 credits class which means two hours of instruction per week for a semester (17 weeks).

FAST6191

Ooh is it time for the every so often rag on command line session?

Are there any especially noted programs that are command line only which would benefit from a GUI for their intended audience?

flame

I don't know how to make GUIs. So, for Isourou-san, my project lead on R-Type Tactics II, I made a "runner" batch file which will run the script using Python launcher.

My partial TL of Last Ranker here: http://www.romhacking.net/translations/2747/