News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: FFHackster 2017 June Alpha  (Read 4290 times)

essellejaye

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
FFHackster 2017 June Alpha
« on: May 31, 2017, 09:31:33 pm »
I've slightly updated the project for June.
The source and a Windows x86 build are available:
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/0B2yvIhyoAprkNzhZWDYyeWZCS2c?usp=sharing

Preview video here:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vSYVpUCvs-s&feature=youtu.be

This version has some modular support, and adds some additional default editors as well.

Also, this requires the VC++ 2015 runtime, which is not included but is available from Microsoft.

Disch

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2746
  • NES Junkie
    • View Profile
Re: FFHackster 2017 June Alpha
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2017, 09:50:16 pm »
Very nice!    :beer:

Kea

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
    • View Profile
Re: FFHackster 2017 June Alpha
« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2017, 10:22:18 pm »
Agreed, very impressive! FF1 hacking has really come far.

Jiggers

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 274
    • View Profile
Re: FFHackster 2017 June Alpha
« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2017, 01:29:30 pm »
Oooh... I want I want I want--

But I get a "is not a valid Win32 application" error. Windows XP Professional, Service Pack 3... x84 thingy, not 64-bit. I downloaded the non-source version. Also, the readme file in the zip is blank...

Gosh I'm so excited for this though...!
I know exactly what I'm doing. I just don't know what effect it's going to have.

Vanya

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1502
    • View Profile
Re: FFHackster 2017 June Alpha
« Reply #4 on: June 02, 2017, 12:32:14 am »
OK. So, this...



...is what it looks like when I open the editor. The project selection window before this works just fine.
I'm on Windows 7.

essellejaye

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Re: FFHackster 2017 June Alpha
« Reply #5 on: June 02, 2017, 02:52:51 am »
@Jiggers

I built this project without the XP toolset support in Visual Studio 2015.
I will investigate this for a future release.
Thanks for the feedback!

essellejaye

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Re: FFHackster 2017 June Alpha
« Reply #6 on: June 02, 2017, 03:36:54 am »
@Vanya,
Yikes, it looks like my (mis)use of the new MFC/ATL graphics API is still in "works on my machines" territory.

Two questions:
Are the tooltips showing for the buttons?
Are the individual editors showing up OK when clicking the buttons, or are they also displaying incorrectly?

If not, I might have to pull the background images for the sake of time and just go with plain windows again.

Sorry for the bugs, but thanks for the feedback, keep it coming!

PS, I run Win 10 Pro, and Win 7 SP1 and Win 8.1 as Virtual Box virtual machines (don't think that's causing the issue, though).
I'll think on the problem, but I did notice that the Chaos image is positioned differently relative to the buttons in your screenshot, so it might a problem with how I've stored or displayed Chaos.

Lenophis

  • IRC Staff
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 960
  • The return of the sombrero!
    • View Profile
    • Slick Productions
Re: FFHackster 2017 June Alpha
« Reply #7 on: June 02, 2017, 10:56:45 am »
Whatever you're trying to show doesn't show up.


https://ff6randomizer.codeplex.com/ - Randomize your FF6 experience!

FCandChill

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 530
    • View Profile
Re: FFHackster 2017 June Alpha
« Reply #8 on: June 02, 2017, 07:47:42 pm »
OK. So, this...



...is what it looks like when I open the editor. The project selection window before this works just fine.
I'm on Windows 7.

That looks ... quite nice actually ... even if it is a glitch.

Vanya

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1502
    • View Profile
Re: FFHackster 2017 June Alpha
« Reply #9 on: June 03, 2017, 10:10:44 pm »
@Vanya,
Yikes, it looks like my (mis)use of the new MFC/ATL graphics API is still in "works on my machines" territory.

Two questions:
Are the tooltips showing for the buttons?
Are the individual editors showing up OK when clicking the buttons, or are they also displaying incorrectly?


If not, I might have to pull the background images for the sake of time and just go with plain windows again.

Sorry for the bugs, but thanks for the feedback, keep it coming!

PS, I run Win 10 Pro, and Win 7 SP1 and Win 8.1 as Virtual Box virtual machines (don't think that's causing the issue, though).
I'll think on the problem, but I did notice that the Chaos image is positioned differently relative to the buttons in your screenshot, so it might a problem with how I've stored or displayed Chaos.


Yes.
And, yes.

It seems to work just fine except for the graphics acting wonky like that on the main screen.
No worries, bugs are just a thing that happens.

essellejaye

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Re: FFHackster 2017 June Alpha
« Reply #10 on: June 11, 2017, 12:13:29 am »
FYI, 3 bugs discovered:

1) Adding a value in the values editor doesn't show up.
Will be addressed in a future release.
* Workaround: after adding the value, save the editor and close it (or hit Done) and then reopen it.

2) The clean assembly source is missing markers in Bank E used by the assembly projects for the Party Setup screen, so the screen won't display for those projects.
* Fix: the updated clean source zip is available here:
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/0B2yvIhyoAprka2JieTR3em5CZnc

3) The addresses for the new party count and increment are off by 1 in the current distribution because I transcribed them incorrectly, and forgot to update them when building the final version.
Will be addressed in a future release.
* Workaround: try updating these values in the Class info section of the values editor if you're having problems in the Party Setup screen with a clean ROM:
NEWPARTYCLASSINC_OFFSET = 0x39d4a
NEWPARTYCLASSCOUNT_OFFSET = 0x39d4c
That should point to the offsets of the increment (1 by default) and the starting class count (6 by default) respectively.

In the FFHackster2017 folder, making these changes in the FFHackster.romvals and FFHackster.asmvals files should fix them for all newly created projects.

q8fft

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
    • View Profile
Re: FFHackster 2017 June Alpha
« Reply #11 on: June 12, 2017, 04:03:46 pm »
vary nice and good job  :thumbsup:

Is it possible to add options such as

- expanded names like

+Player names up to 6 characters
+Class names up to 10 characters
+Spell names up to 8 characters
+Equipment names up to 10 characters
+Story Item names up to 13 characters
+Usable Item names up to 10 characters
+Enemy names up to 15 characters
+Enemy Attack names up to 11 characters
+Status Ailments up to 6 characters
+Battle Messages up to 28 characters
+Shop names up to 11 characters

and edit DTE bank ???

Vanya

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1502
    • View Profile
Re: FFHackster 2017 June Alpha
« Reply #12 on: June 13, 2017, 03:12:36 am »
That would all fall under the ASM project part of the editor. Except maybe the DTE thing.
So you can already do all that, you just have to do most of the work yourself.

q8fft

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
    • View Profile
Re: FFHackster 2017 June Alpha
« Reply #13 on: June 14, 2017, 06:08:32 pm »
That would all fall under the ASM project part of the editor. Except maybe the DTE thing.
So you can already do all that, you just have to do most of the work yourself.
Reply is just suggestions he can ignore the reply anyway ..

Vanya

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1502
    • View Profile
Re: FFHackster 2017 June Alpha
« Reply #14 on: June 15, 2017, 06:51:55 am »
I know, I'm just letting you know that most of that is already something you could do. Since the editor already allows for it as is.

Mirage

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: FFHackster 2017 June Alpha
« Reply #15 on: June 25, 2017, 01:27:20 pm »
I just discovered another bug: if you edit the shop or menu text, the shop inventory pointers will suddenly become glitchy for no apparent reason. Could someone please look into that?

Shop pointers before editing:


Unedited shop text:


Edited shop text:


Shop pointers after editing:


essellejaye

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Re: FFHackster 2017 June Alpha
« Reply #16 on: June 28, 2017, 11:56:43 pm »
The problem in this case is with the shop text ending offset.
It's current value is erroneously referring to the end of the shop data which immediately follows the shop text.
This will be corrected in the next release (targeting second week of July).

In the interim, in the values editor's In-Game Text group, change the value SHOPTEXT_END to 0x38310.