News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Virtual Cameraman (3DO) English translation  (Read 1667 times)

Psyklax

• View Profile
    • Psyklax Translations
Virtual Cameraman (3DO) English translation
« on: November 28, 2018, 07:08:19 am »
Hello there, RHDN faithful! Those of you who know me will know that one thing I like with ROM hacking is exploring new frontiers, doing things I haven't done before. So, it's with that in mind that I've decided to translate a series of games on the 3DO. I've never worked on a CD-based system before, nor a post-16-bit system (unless the PC-98 counts, which it sort of does).

You might be thinking: why, of all games, did you choose to translate a game series that involves asking women you meet in the street to pose for nude photos? Well, unlike some prudish members of the community, I don't turn my nose up at adult-themed games, but it's also a very good test case for me. There isn't a lot of text, so it'll be easy to finish. I like short achievable projects that can add to my experience.

Anyway, I will provide screenshots of progress later, but don't worry: everything that needs translating is very tasteful. ;) The main reason I started the thread already is because I have a couple of technical issues to address, and I wanted to bring them up with you guys.

First is the issue of playing my hacked version. The translation comprises two parts: changing the Shift JIS menu text into English ASCII text, which is as simple as editing the CD image directly; and changing the picture files that contain the interview questions, which requires unpacking the files on the CD and changing them that way. It is the latter that causes the issue: after unpacking and repacking the image, the game no longer runs as is.