News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules

Author Topic: Question Regarding PS1 ROM Hacking  (Read 1143 times)

fantasticfox

• View Profile
Question Regarding PS1 ROM Hacking
« on: November 22, 2021, 10:20:39 am »
Hi, I'm pretty new to rom hacking and have been cutting my teeth on a SNES game.  My goal is to translate a PS1 game and I'm wondering, if I extract the PSX.EXE from a .bin using jPSXdec, can I just edit the hex and replace it using Daemon Tools or is there extra stuff I need to be aware of?  Like, should I extract raw or normal?

FAST6191

• View Profile
Re: Question Regarding PS1 ROM Hacking
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2021, 12:25:53 pm »
Some PS1 games will have checks on the binary (and maybe other files) as a type of anti piracy or maybe just self checking -- if you have ever read into editing saves then same idea but for the CD. You may have to either figure out what it does for that or dodge the check itself. Easy enough to check for this -- find the thing in the exe in the ISO, find a bit of text you want to edit, replace one character with another valid character (there is presumably another right next to it), save and load the game up, if it fails or triggers anti cheat/anti piracy then you have that to contend with, if not then you can further experiment with extraction and insertion methods using your tools of choice (daemon tools would not necessarily be my first choice, though it can probably get it done) and seeing if that breaks things on emulators or hardware.

Equally is the text you want to edit in the exe file? It is more than possible but part of the fun of having discs if you can load and unload data like text at will so the better devs would have had it as a separate file, though nobody in any way accomplished around here would say that devs always took the best path.