News:

11 March 2016 - Forum Rules

Main Menu

Family BASIC 2.1a - My First Translation Project

Started by Arjak, August 01, 2016, 11:47:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Arjak

Well...here we go...

I am starting this thread in order to keep a record of whatever might happen as I begin my first ever ROM hacking project.

The story so far:

August 1, 2016

I've always been fascinated by the rom hacking scene, but I have never made a serious attempt at any kind of project before now. I have always loved the idea, but have always gotten cold feet shortly after starting to read any documents on the matter. Having recently gotten interested in trying out Family BASIC, I decided to take a look at the rom in a hex editor and see what I could find, with the intent of possibly doing a translation patch.

To begin, I studied several guides and found some first steps to take. I also looked at the games graphic tiles and was relieved to see that there was already an English font in the game. I might change the font at some point, but at least I don't have to worry about it too much. Also, as far as Japanese is concerned, the only characters in the font seem to be kana, so whoever I can find to help me translate this shouldn't have much trouble at all. Frankly, I'm far more concerned about myself.

After a few hours of staring at the text characters and their associated hex codes in FCE Ultra's PPU viewer, and lots of comparing the in-game font to JWPce's character table, I finally was able to put together a character table that seemed right. I opened the ROM in a hex editor and loaded the table...only to be met with gibberish! For a second I was quite concerned. Then I remembered that the text was in Japanese and that the the editor was probably displaying an English font that couldn't display the characters. I quickly found a font change option and switched to Japanese script.