News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Help Me: Shadowrun (GEN) mod with possible compression  (Read 1007 times)

vonMuir

• View Profile
Help Me: Shadowrun (GEN) mod with possible compression
« on: June 26, 2016, 02:44:53 pm »
I'm working on a new project. I'm posting this here first (instead of the Personal Projects forum), because I still have a lot of newbie questions and figured there'd be more help for me here. Sorry for the long read...

I want to mod the 1994 Shadowrun for Genesis. This is my first hack, although I have some programming experience. I've already used a hex editor to change some values (like starting equipment and stats, etc.). However, there are some more in depth elements I want to mod that I believe will go beyond simple hex editing. Plus, I believe the file is compressed. I say believe because this is my first hack, and I don't want to presume that I know what I'm talking about. More on the compression below...

I want to do things in this mod that will involve if/then triggers. For instance, I want the dialogue to change in game based on certain actions that the player takes. I also want to create a post game and a new game plus. I think that this will require learning assembly and maybe creating a level editor. I understand that this may be extremely time consuming and require a lot of study. I want to carry on despite this, however I have no idea where to begin (resources, programs, etc.).