News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Metal Gear Solid (PSX) Bug  (Read 3351 times)

SleepyFist

• RHDN Patreon Supporter!
    • View Profile
Metal Gear Solid (PSX) Bug
« on: August 22, 2017, 10:39:25 am »
This is my first time playing the original MGS even though I've finished 2&3,

Does anybody know if disc damage can prevent Meryl from opening DARPA Chief's cell to let me continue the game?
the game starts locking up in the codec conversation just before and then dumps me in the cell with no way out and certain buttons like Invetory buttons, codec, and pause, disabled, also tried hiding under the bed to trigger her to move, but no dice.

I'm afraid I'm going to have to find somebody to take me back into town to exchange it for a working copy.

KaioShin

• View Profile
    • The Romhacking Aerie
Re: Metal Gear Solid (PSX) Bug
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2017, 12:39:06 pm »
Are you sure you waited long enough? It's supposed to take a while to be more realistic and make you feel nervous. Though locking up during conversations doesn't sound too encouraging, it seems far fetched that random read errors would cause glitches in this way.
All my posts are merely personal opinions and not statements of fact, even if they are not explicitly prefixed by "In my opinion", "IMO", "I believe", or similar modifiers. By reading this disclaimer you agree to reply in spirit of these conditions.

SleepyFist

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2017, 01:52:35 pm »
I waited a bit but maybe not long enough, it also keeps locking up and displaying the disc icon while I'm wandering around the cell too, I'll try again and give it a bit longer when the tv is available.