News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Super mario bros 3 SMB3 workshop, how do I add different enemies ??  (Read 5470 times)

EnigmaGameZ

• View Profile
The title says it all but how do I add different enemies in smb3 workshop I also want to add different tiles to place. any help ? I am new to this :p

henke37

• View Profile
Re: Super mario bros 3 SMB3 workshop, how do I add different enemies ??
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2016, 06:07:54 am »
Have you checked out the annotated disassembly of the game?

Quick Curly

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2016, 12:48:49 pm »
Not trying to come across as forceful or anything, but just to suggest, in the interest of making the best use of forum space, could you please keep any future questions for the same game to the same thread? Saves the trouble of having 5+ SMB3-related threads within the few most recent pages of threads. Again, I'm not trying to moderate in place of actual staff, but for the sake of users who try to help you, it'll be more organized and less hectic with other members still posting in unrelated threads. Perhaps a Romhacking.net version of a "General SMB3 Hacking Thread" would work out well over here now, too. Maybe.

Anyway, on to your new question. When you open the editor and load your ROM, the default 1-1 should display. There are icons at the top of the window underneath the menus. You should notice a group with a coin, a ground corner, a Goomba, and a blue dash. If you hover over an icon, text tips will display for you what it does.

If you left-click the coin icon, and then click within the level display space, a 3-byte object will be placed.
If you left-click the ground icon, and then click within the level display space, a 4-byte object will be placed.
If you left-click the Goomba icon, and then click within the level display space, a new enemy will be placed.