News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Tracking down Magic Sword (SNES) timer in RAM  (Read 5039 times)

zonk47

• View Profile
Tracking down Magic Sword (SNES) timer in RAM
« on: April 24, 2016, 04:38:10 pm »
I'm trying to locate the health down timer count in Magic Sword. What would be the easiest way to do it?
A good slave does not realize he is one; the best slave will not accept that he has become one.

mz

• Whore
    • View Profile
Re: Tracking down Magic Sword (SNES) timer in RAM
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2016, 04:42:04 pm »
Use the RAM/Cheat Search function in any SNES emulator that supports it: BizHawk, MAME, Snes9x-rr, lsnes, ZSNES, etc.

Guide for absolute newbies: http://tasvideos.org/MemorySearch.html
There has to be a better life.

zonk47

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2016, 06:37:00 pm »
Why is there no tool that identifies continuous counters for me?
A good slave does not realize he is one; the best slave will not accept that he has become one.

mz

• Whore
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 24, 2016, 06:49:24 pm »
There is, it's called RAM/Cheat Search.

zonk47

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 24, 2016, 06:57:44 pm »
There is, it's called RAM/Cheat Search.

No it doesn't.

mz

• Whore
    • View Profile
« Reply #5 on: April 24, 2016, 07:04:43 pm »
You may want to learn how to use it.

Seihen

• View Profile
« Reply #6 on: April 24, 2016, 07:08:49 pm »
Why is there no tool that identifies continuous counters for me?

Because every game does it differently and it's such a edge-case feature that it wouldn't really benefit many people other than you?

Oh, and RAM/Cheat searching works just as well.

KingMike

• Forum Moderator
  • *sigh* A changed avatar. Big deal.
    • View Profile
« Reply #7 on: April 24, 2016, 10:10:27 pm »
I will give a third opinion that it is what RAM/Cheat search is for. Find a tutorial on that.